One World Records

Yuliesky Gonzalez - Cubanero

Yuliesky Gonzalez - Cubanero

Stock Status: In Stock

Cubanero is the outstanding debut album by the Cuban trumpet player and composer Yuliesky González.

The Camagüey-born artist began performing at the age of 10 at the Music Conservatory of Camagüey. Aided by his father and grandfather, who taught him all the secrets of the trumpet, González graduated at the age of 19 and enrolled in the military.

Based in Habana, it was during his mandatory stint in the army that he formed a brass quintet and began writing his own music. González went on to perform with the likes of Omara Portuondo, Feliz Valoy, Changuito, Manolito Simonet, Pupi Pedroso, and Alexander Abreu, and relocated to Berlin. 

Rooted in the street environment of his childhood, the eight tracks on Cubanero reveal a personal journey of development. Incorporating all the mysticism of Afro-Cuban spirit, the album is coloured by influences from Yuliesky’s education in classical European music and African rhythm, while celebrating the legacy of Cuban jazz and popular music.

The album line up includes two of the greatest exponents of Scandinavian jazz:guitarist Bjarne Roupé and saxophonist Tomas Franck. Roupé had performed with Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, Hermeto Pascual, Eddie Harris and Toots Thieleman, while Franck has played alongside John Scofield, Eliane Elias, Steve Swallow, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and David Sanborn.

Talking about the exciting talent, One World Records’ Carolina Vallejo says: “The first time I heard González play the trumpet I felt a magic call from the place in my heart where music begins… His feeling and sound is of such quality that makes you want to hear more.”

Indeed, the eight tracks on Cubanero certainly reflects this and proves the most promising of starts for a prestigious new talent.


1 Very Nice (6:14)
2 Reflections (7:33)
3 Santisimo (6:26)
4 En Cada Amanecer (7:01)
5 Love Theme From A Dream (8:22)
6 ’Cause I Love You (5:44)
7 Miles Across (7:38)
8 Timba Berlin-Habana (6:05)

  • Artist:
    Yuliesky González
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    August 2020
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: