Our Catalogue

Vera Lynn - Singles Collection 1936-62

Vera Lynn - Singles Collection 1936-62

Stock Status: In Stock

Vera Lynn, one of the most iconic and inspiring artists of the 20th century, died in June 2020 at the age of 103, just a month after the 75th anniversary of VE Day, which marked the end of WWII in Europe, a conflict in which her songs, like “We’ll Meet Again” and “(There’ll Be Bluebirds Over) The White Cliffs Of Dover” were emblematic of the sentiments of the time. Her role in the war remained a key aspect of her musical and historical legacy. However, she was also a fine and versatile performer and interpreter of the popular songs of her era, who had a significant number of hits in the pop chart on both sides of the Atlantic, including the US No. 1 “Auf Wiederseh'n Sweetheart” and the UK No. 1 “My Son, My Son”. This great-value 144-track 6-CD set comprises selected A and B sides from her UK and US releases on the Crown, Decca, London, MGM and HMV labels during the first quarter-century of her career, with a significant proportion of those releases represented by at least one of the sides. It includes her versions of some of the big US hits of those years, and showcases her uniquely distinctive voice across many musical environments, recording with a range of orchestras, including that of Mantovani, or with small groups and military choruses. It’s a substantial memento of an artist whose significance transcends simply the world of popular music, but who deserves to be remembered also as a performer who was up there with the very best of her contemporaries.


“Released shortly after Vera Lynn's death, and with the liner booklet reflecting this, Acrobat have been remarkably quick off the mark to issue this blockbusting set, which consists of 144 tracks over six CDs. Although not by any means the 'complete' Vera Lynn it must stand as the definitive collection of her recording career up to the cut off date of 1962. The lengthy essay by Paul Watts does her full justice and underlines the view that her association with WW2 had somewhat obscured her wider talents as an interpreter of the standard repertoire; in his words "she was a very fine, expressive and versatile interpreter of popular songs of all kinds, with a talent comparable to some of her American peers ... generally regarded as the most influential divas - Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan, Peggy Lee being among the prime contenders". Praise indeed and a closer examination of the contents of this collection is instructive. This set is likely to be a deserved best seller and is another landmark in Acrobat's increasingly impressive catalogue.” –  Gerry Stonestreet (In Tune Issue 343)

Track Title Artist
1 There Must Be A Reason Vera Lynn
2 Now And Forever Vera Lynn
3 My Son, My Son Vera Lynn
4 Vera Lynn's Party Sing-Song Part 1 Vera Lynn
5 Addio Amore Vera Lynn
6 Show Me The Way Vera Lynn
7 Vera Lynn Popular Medley No. 4 (Side 1) Vera Lynn
8 Such A Day Vera Lynn
9 Who Are We Vera Lynn
10 Walk Hand In Hand Vera Lynn
11 A House With Love In It Vera Lynn
12 The Faithful Hussar (Don't Cry My Love) Vera Lynn
13 Travellin' Home Vera Lynn
14 Across The Bridge Vera Lynn
15 Home For The Holidays (There's No Place Like) Vera Lynn
16 Another Time, Another Place Vera Lynn
17 Every Hour, Every Day Of My Life Vera Lynn
18 Walk With Faith In Your Heart Vera Lynn
19 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You Vera Lynn
20 Morgen (One More Sunrise) Vera Lynn
21 The Gathering Of The Clans Vera Lynn
22 Accordeon Vera Lynn
23 Adios, My Love (The Song Of Athens) Vera Lynn
24 From Tomorrow Vera Lynn
25 I'll Be Seeing You Vera Lynn
26 Longing (Vieimi Vicino) Vera Lynn
27 The Day After Tomorrow Vera Lynn
  • Artist:
    Vera Lynn
  • Discs:
  • EAN:
  • Release:
    August 2021
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: