Various Artists - The First British Hit Parade: The B Sides

Various Artists - The First British Hit Parade: The B Sides

Stock Status: In Stock

Acrobat’s British Hit Parade series has been established for more than a decade as a unique range of completist original artist collections comprising every record that appeared in the UK record sales charts in since they began in 1952.

In recent years the label has introduced parallel collections which consist of the B-sides of all the records included in the main compilations, and these have proved hugely popular with collectors, since many of the records concerned have never been available on CD and are very rarely heard.

This single CD set effectively completes the series, and is the companion product to the existing First British Hit Parade (ACRCG 711).

An eclectic snapshot of an ignored but fascinating aspect of the pop business, including an in-depth booklet with background notes on every record.


The usual comprehensive and informative liner notes set the seal on a CD that is likely to figure among the highlights of the year. - Gerry Stonestreet (In Tune Issue 349)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 I Cried Myself To Sleep Al Martino
2 Pretty Boy (Pretty Girl) Jo Stafford
3 Walkin' My Baby Back Home Nat King Cole
4 At Last! At Last! Bing Crosby
5 Angels Cry (When Sweethearts Tell A Lie) Guy Mitchell
6 Botch-A-Me (Ba-Ba-Baciami Piccina) Rosemary Clooney
7 Rock Of Gibraltar Frankie Laine
8 When Swallows Say Goodbye Vera Lynn
9 How It Lies, How It Lies, How It Lies! Doris Day
10 Unforgettable Ray Martin And His Concert Orchestra
11 Yours Vera Lynn
12 From The Time You Say Goodbye (The Parting Song) Vera Lynn
13 The Song Angels Sing Mario Lanza
14 True Love And False Lovers Max Bygraves
15 What's The Use? Johnnie Ray and The Four Lads
16 I Never Cared Al Martino
17 When I Fall In Love Doris Day
18 Three Letters Kay Starr
19 The Maiden Of Guadalupe Jane Wyman
20 Dixie Boogie Winifred Atwell And Her Piano
21 Faith Can Move Mountains Nat King Cole
22 Adeste Fideles Mantovani
23 A Sinner Am I Johnnie Ray
24 That's My Desire Louis Armstrong And Velma Middleton
25 Adeste Fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful) Bing Crosby
26 I Don't Know What To Do With My Time Tony Brent
27 Early Autumn Jo Stafford
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    January 2021
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: