The Browns - Scarlet Ribbons: The Singles Collection 1954-62

The Browns - Scarlet Ribbons: The Singles Collection 1954-62

Stock Status: In Stock

The Browns - Scarlet Ribbons: The Singles Collection 1954-62

The Browns were a family vocal trio comprising Jim Edward Brown and his sisters Maxine and Bonnie, who had a string of country hits in the USA through the late ‘50s and early ‘60s. They were, of course, best known for their worldwide smash hit The Three Bells, the poignant story if Little Jimmy Brown, which was a US pop No.1 in 1959.

They had a distinctive harmony sound, and made extremely high-quality recordings, recording in stereo from early in their career, and worked with the best musicians in Nashville along with the pioneering Chet Atkins as producer.

This superb 17 track LP comprises all their chart hits from their 1954 debut through to 1962, plus a selection of their most beautiful other recordings. It includes singles between 1954 and 1956 for the small Fabor label, recording as Jim Edward and Maxine Brown, before Bonnie joined them when they signed to RCA in 1956. It naturally features their biggest chart entries during the period, with Top 5 hits Scarlet Ribbons, Take A Chance, I Heard The Bluebirds Sing and The Old Lamplighter alongside The Three Bells. It’s a fine celebration of their distinctive talents.

Side A 
1 Looking Back To See
2 Here Today And Gone Tomorrow
3 I Take The Chance
4 Just As Long As You Love Me
5 Money
6 I Heard The Bluebirds Sing
7 Would You Care?
8 Beyond The Shadow

Side B
1 The Three Bells
2 Heaven Fell Last Night
3 Scarlet Ribbons
4 Teen-Ex
5 The Old Lamplighter
6 Send Me The Pillow You Dream On
7 Ground Hog
8 Buttons And Bows
9 The Old Master Painter

  • UPC:
  • Release:
    Oct 2023
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: