Trapeze Catalogue

Tex Ritter - The Hits and Selected Singles Collection 1933-61

Tex Ritter - The Hits and Selected Singles Collection 1933-61

Stock Status: In Stock

Tex Ritter was one of the first “singing cowboys”, a performer  who started out singing on radio in Texas in the 1920s before moving to New York to appear on radio and on Broadway.

A pioneer of American country music, he made his first records in 1933, and went enjoy a recording career that lasted four decades. His motion picture debut was in Song of the Gringo (1936) for Grand National Pictures and  went on to appear in 70 movies as an actor, and 76 on film soundtracks.

He attracted special attention in 1952 for his rendition of The Ballad of High Noon over the opening credits of the celebrated film High Noon, and later sang it at that year’s Academy Awards ceremony, where it won Best Original Song. In 1944, scored a hit with I’m Wastin’ My Tears On You, which hit No.1 on the country chart and No.11 on the pop chart. An article in the trade publication Billboard noted 14 years later that with that song, he “reached the style of rhythmic tune that would assure his musical stature.”

Other popular numbers include You Two-Timed Me Once Too Often, You Will Have To Pay, and the Top 3 hits There’s A New Moon Over My Shoulder, Jealous Heart, Have I Told You Lately That I Love You and When You Leave Don’t Slam The Door.

This 77-track set comprises recordings on the Vocalion, Champion and Decca labels from the 1930s, and then, when he was one of the first signings to the newly-founded Capitol label, further selected A- and B-sides from the 1940s and ‘50s.

A substantial and varied showcase for his talent and his highly distinctive style, the collection encompasses children’s songs and faith-based material as well as his ground-breaking country numbers.


Disc 1
1 Goodbye Old Paint Tex Ritter
2 Sam Hall Tex Ritter
3 Thirty Three Years In Prison Tex Ritter
4 Get Along Lil Dogie Tex Ritter
5 Nobody's Darling But Mine Tex Ritter
6 My Brown Eyed Texas Rose Tex Ritter
7 The Oregon Trail Tex Ritter
8 Take Me Back To My Boots And Saddle Tex Ritter
9 High Wide And Handsome Tex Ritter
10 We'll Rest At The End Of The Trail Tex Ritter
11 Hills Of Old Wyoming Tex Ritter
12 Melody From The Sky Tex Ritter
13 I'm A Natural Born Cowboy Tex Ritter
14 Singing In The Saddle Tex Ritter And His Texans
15 Viva Tequila Tex Ritter And His Texans
16 When It's Lamp Lighting Time In The Valley Tex Ritter And His Texans
17 Goodbye, My Little Cherokee Tex Ritter And His Texans
18 Someone Tex Ritter And His Texans
19 There's A Gold Star In Her Window Tex Ritter And His Texans
20 I'm Wastin' My Tears On You Tex Ritter And His Texans
21 There's A New Moon Over My Shoulder Tex Ritter And His Texans
22 Jealous Heart Tex Ritter And His Texans
23 You Two Timed Me Once Too Often Tex Ritter And His Texans
24 You Will Have To Pay Tex Ritter
25 Christmas Carols By The Old Corral Tex Ritter
26 I'm Gonna Leave You Like I Found You Tex Ritter
Disc 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Long Time Gone Tex Ritter
2 When You Leave, Don't Slam The Door Tex Ritter
3 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You Tex Ritter
4 From Now On Tex Ritter
5 One Little Teardrop Too Late Tex Ritter
6 Billy The Kid Tex Ritter
7 The Texas Rangers Tex Ritter
8 I Love My Rooster Tex Ritter
9 The Wreck Of Number Nine Tex Ritter
10 Froggy Went A-Courtin’ Tex Ritter
11 The Last Mile Tex Ritter
12 Rock And Rye Tex Ritter
13 Double Dealin’ Darlin’ Tex Ritter
14 Tenneha, Timpson, Bobo And Blair Tex Ritter
15 I Was Born A Hundred Years Ago Tex Ritter
16 Thank You Tex Ritter
17 Cactus Jackson Had A Ranch Tex Ritter
18 The Boll Weevil Song Tex Ritter
19 Teach Me To Forget Tex Ritter
20 I Can’t Get My Foot Off The Rail Tex Ritter
21 Rye Whiskey Tex Ritter
22 Deck Of Cards Tex Ritter
23 Dallas Darlin' Tex Ritter
24 Pecos Bill Tex Ritter
25 Rounded Up In Glory Tex Ritter
Disc 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Fort Worth Jail Tex Ritter
2 Careless Hands Tex Ritter
3 San Antonio Rose Tex Ritter
4 Bad Brahma Bull Tex Ritter
5 Cool Water Tex Ritter And The Dinning Sisters
6 You Are My Sunshine Tex Ritter And The Dinning Sisters
7 Never Mind My Tears Tex Ritter
8 Boiled Crawfish Tex Ritter
9 The Pledge Of Allegiance Tex Ritter
10 Daddy's Last Letter Tex Ritter
11 Stay Away From My Heart Tex Ritter
12 You're Always Brand New Tex Ritter
13 There's No One To Cry Over Me Tex Ritter
14 Ol' Shorty Tex Ritter
15 When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again Tex Ritter & Les Baxter
16 There Shall Be Showers Of Blessings Tex Ritter & The Oklahoma Sweethearts
17 High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me) Tex Ritter
18 Go On! Get Out! Tex Ritter
19 My Woman Ain't Pretty Tex Ritter
20 The Long Black Rifle Tex Ritter
21 Let Me Go, Devil Tex Ritter
22 Lord, Send An Angel Tex Ritter
23 The Best Time Of All Tex Ritter
24 A Whale Of Tale Tex Ritter
25 The Wayward Wind Tex Ritter
26 I Dreamed Of A Hillbilly Heaven Tex Ritter
  • Artist:
    Tex Ritter
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    February 2022
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: