Trapeze Catalogue

Tab Hunter Collection 1956-62

Tab Hunter Collection 1956-62

Stock Status: In Stock

Tab Hunter was a heartthrob Hollywood star before he was a singer, being plucked from obscurity by actor Dick Clayton who met him when he was working in a stable in California. His blond hair and clean good looks gave him a ready appeal to young fans, making his first film in 1950 and eventually signing to Warner Bros. where he was hugely successful, as he starred with Natalie Wood in two box office hits. Randy Wood of Dot Records asked him to record a version of Sonny James’ country hit “Young Love”, and he had a No. 1 on both sides of the Atlantic. He had three more chart entries for Dot before Warner Bros insisted he record for them and set up their own label.

This compilation comprises most of the A and B sides he recorded for Dot and Warners during these core years of his recording career, along with the titles from his albums “Tab Hunter”, “When I Fall In Love” and “R.F.D. Tab Hunter”. It features all his career chart entries, including the US and UK No. 1 “Young Love”, and the UK Top 5 hit “Ninety-Nine Ways”. His foray into pop music did not last long into the 1960s, and he was soon focusing again on screen roles, starring in a number of beach movies. However, his hits of the late ‘50s remain an evocative touchstone for baby boomers who lived through those times, and this collection provides not only a substantial slice of his recorded work, but a fascinating window into the creative and commercial world of a teen idol largely created by Tin Pan Alley who found a voice of his own.


“This collection takes in most of his recordings and 56 tracks are probably as many as anyone needs of this manufactured pop star. That is not to say that this collection is without merit. As usual with Acrobat, considerable care has been lavished on this collection to provide as much detail as possible so the comprehensive booklet, apart from the usual informative essay by Paul Watts on Hunter's life and times, also includes a sessionography and full discographical details.”   Gerry Stonestreet (In Tune Issue 342)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Young Love Tab Hunter
2 Red Sails In The Sunset Tab Hunter
3 Ninety-Nine Ways Tab Hunter
4 Don't Get Around Much Anymore Tab Hunter
5 Don't Let It Get Around Tab Hunter
6 I'm Alone Because I Love You Tab Hunter
7 I'm A Runaway Tab Hunter
8 It's All Over Town Tab Hunter
9 Jealous Heart Tab Hunter
10 Lonesome Road Tab Hunter
11 Candy Tab Hunter
12 My Baby Just Cares For Me Tab Hunter
13 (I'll Be With You In) Apple Blossom Time Tab Hunter
14 (What Can I Give) My Only Love Tab Hunter
15 There's No Fool Like A Young Fool Tab Hunter
16 I'll Never Smile Again Tab Hunter
17 Our Love Tab Hunter
18 Waitin' For Fall Tab Hunter
19 Moonlight Bay Tab Hunter
20 You're Gonna Change (Or I'm Gonna Leave) Tab Hunter
21 I Gotta Have My Baby Back Tab Hunter
22 Black Coat Tab Hunter
23 Again Tab Hunter
24 Love Is Just Around The Corner Tab Hunter
25 My Devotion Tab Hunter
26 You Cheated Tab Hunter
27 Wild Side Of Life Tab Hunter
28 The Way You Look Tonight Tab Hunter
29 I Can't Stop Loving You Tab Hunter
30 Born To Lose Tab Hunter
31 I'll Never Be Free Tab Hunter
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 I Love You, Yes I Do Tab Hunter
2 I Want To Be With You Always Tab Hunter
3 Time After Time Tab Hunter
4 I Ain't Got Nobody Tab Hunter
5 Let's Pretend There Is A Moon Tab Hunter
6 After You've Gone Tab Hunter
7 All Alone Tab Hunter
8 But Beautiful Tab Hunter
9 Funny Tab Hunter
10 You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby Tab Hunter
11 Nevertheless Tab Hunter
12 I Wish I Didn't Love You So Tab Hunter
13 Long Ago Tab Hunter
14 Sometimes I'm Happy Tab Hunter
15 When I Fall In Love Tab Hunter
16 Why Does It Get So Late So Early Tab Hunter
17 Maybe You'll Be There Tab Hunter
18 Bye Bye Baby Tab Hunter
19 I Hadn't Anyone Till You Tab Hunter
20 And So To Sleep Again Tab Hunter
21 It Makes No Difference Now Tab Hunter
22 Invitation To The Blues Tab Hunter
23 Bummin' Around Tab Hunter
24 Hey Good Lookin' Tab Hunter
25 Oh Lonesome Me Tab Hunter
26 Headin' Down The Wrong Highway Tab Hunter
27 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry Tab Hunter
28 I've Got A New Heartache Tab Hunter
29 It's The Bottle Talking Tab Hunter
30 Anytime Tab Hunter
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Run Time:
    142 mins
  • Artist:
    Tab Hunter
  • Release:
    May 2020
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: