Sons of the Pioneers - Drifting Along With: The Chart Years 1936-49 (LP)

Sons of the Pioneers - Drifting Along With: The Chart Years 1936-49 (LP)

Stock Status: In Stock

Sons Of The Pioneers - Drifting Along With: The Chart Years 1936-1950

Sons Of The Pioneers, originally formed in 1933 were amongst the first western singing troupes, famed for their close harmonies, musicianship and song-writing. Their subject matter was true cowboy fare, steeped with imagery of horses, cowboys, canyons and prairies. Fronted by future superstar singing cowboy Leonard Slye aka Roy Rogers, the Pioneers appeared in dozens of Charles Starrett western movies and became indelibly associated with the audience perception of the old west. Their music captured the spirit of the pioneer west and its cultural significance for countless Americans.

This collection concentrates on their early and most commercially successful years until none of the three founding members were present. It includes all their country chart hits along with some of the most emotive and timeless recordings from a time before Honky-Tonk and the Nashville Sound started their domination of the best seller’s lists.

Opening with their first major release Ride Ranger Ride, it goes through their timeless hits Cool Water, Tumblin’ Tumbleweeds, Cigareetes, Whusky And Wild, Wild Women and also includes the evocative cowboy tale Riders In The Sky

90 years on, the group still continues to be self-perpetuating. With 42 members to date, the last leader to retire was the son of a musical pioneer, Roy “Dusty” Rogers who led the group from 2018 until his retirement in 2023. No group has managed to capture the spirit and feeling of the old West quite like the Sons Of The Pioneers. This celebration of their music gives an insight to their unique and evocative sound.

Track Listing

Side A
1. Ride Ranger Ride
2. Blue Prarie
3. Way Out There
4. Cool Water
5. Stars & Stripes On Iwo Jima
6. No-one To Cry To
7. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
8. Baby Doll

Side B
1. Cigareetes, Whusky And Wild, Wild Women
2. My Best To You
3. Teardrops In My Heart
4. The Last Round Up
5. Room Full Of Roses
6. Red River Valley
7. Riders In The Sky
8. Stampede

  • UPC:
  • Release:
    June 2024
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: