Trapeze Catalogue

Snooks Eaglin - The First Decade 1953-62

Snooks Eaglin - The First Decade 1953-62

Stock Status: In Stock

Snooks Eaglin was a blind blues singer and guitarist from New Orleans who played a highly accessible brand of the blues. Eaglin lost his sight not long after his first birthday, having been stricken with glaucoma, and spent several years in the hospital. Around the age of five he received a guitar from his father and taught himself to play. A mischievous youngster, he was given the nickname “Snooks” after a radio character named Baby Snooks. He developed a style which would sometimes stray into rock‘n’roll or folk music territories, Eaglin often re-worked other artists’ songs and earned himself the nickname of “The Human Jukebox”.

His wide and varied repertoire in ‘live’ performances ensured he was active for around half a century, but this 52-track collection focuses on the first decade or so of that extensive recording career. It comprises early recordings as Blind Guitar Ferd for the Wonder label, plus most of the titles from his albums as Snooks Eaglin Possum Up A Simmon Tree on Folk-Lyric, Message From New Orleans on Heritage, and That’s All Right on Bluesville, plus his A- and B-sides from these years on Imperial on which he was known as Ford Eaglin. It was while at Imperial his style diversified into the pop arena.

This set features versions of classic songs plus equally classic recordings associated with him, including Mean Old World, Bottle Up And Go, Down By The Riverside, That’s Alright, Country Boy, Mama Don’t You Tear My Clothes, Yours Truly, Travellin’ Mood and many more.

He died, aged 72, in 2009 and will be remembered as an artist who played the blues to entertain, and this very much comes across in these selections of his early recordings.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Jesus Will Fix It For You Blind Guitar Ferd And The New Orleans Wonders


Travelling On Blind Guitar Ferd And The New Orleans Wonders
3 This Mean Old World Snooks Eaglin
4 Six Thousand Miles From Nowhere [= One Room Country Shack] Snooks Eaglin
5 Possum Up A Simmon Tree Snooks Eaglin
6 That's Alright Snooks Eaglin
7 Veal Chop And Pork Chop Snooks Eaglin
8 I Ain't Gonna Study War No More (Down By The Riverside) Snooks Eaglin
9 The Model T And The Train Snooks Eaglin
10 Jack O'Diamonds Snooks Eaglin
11 Death Valley Blues Snooks Eaglin
12 This Train Snooks Eaglin
13 Bottle Up And Go Snooks Eaglin
14 Mardi Gras Mambo Snooks Eaglin
15 Rock Me Momma Snooks Eaglin
16 John Henry Snooks Eaglin
17 Locomotive Train Snooks Eaglin
18 I Had A Little Woman Snooks Eaglin
19 Mamma, Don't You Tear My Clothes Snooks Eaglin
20 Walkin' Blues Snooks Eaglin
21 Give Me The Good Old Box-Car Snooks Eaglin
22 Every Day Snooks Eaglin
23 I Had My Fun Snooks Eaglin
24 Blue Shadows Blues Snooks Eaglin
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 She's A Black Rat Snooks Eaglin
2 Who's Been Foolin' You? Snooks Eaglin
3 I Must See Jesus Snooks Eaglin
4 Fly Right, Baby Snooks Eaglin
5 That's All Right Snooks Eaglin
6 Who Can Your Good Man Be Snooks Eaglin
7 Don't You Lie To Me Snooks Eaglin
8 Yours Truly Ford Eaglin
9 Nobody Knows Ford Eaglin
10 That Certain Door Ford Eaglin
11 By The Water Ford Eaglin
12 If I Could Ford Eaglin
13 Guess Who Ford Eaglin
14 My Head Is Spinnin' Ford Eaglin
15 Travelin' Mood Ford Eaglin
16 Goin' To The River Ford Eaglin
17 I'm Slippin' In Ford Eaglin
18 Nothing Sweet As You Ford Eaglin
19 Don't Slam That Door Ford Eaglin
20 People Are Talking Ford Eaglin
21 Reality Ford Eaglin
22 Long Gone Ford Eaglin
23 Willy Lee Ford Eaglin
24 Mailman Passed Blind Snooks Eaglin
25 I'm A Country Boy Blind Snooks Eaglin
26 I Got A Woman Blind Snooks Eaglin
27 Alberta Blind Snooks Eaglin
28 One More Drink Blind Snooks Eaglin
  • Artist:
    Snooks Eaglin
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: