Trapeze Catalogue

Ruth Etting - All The Hits And More 1926-37

Ruth Etting - All The Hits And More 1926-37

Stock Status: In Stock

Ruth Etting, who acquired the nickname “America’s Sweetheart Of Song”, was a singer and actress who was one of the most popular and successful performers during the 1920s  and early 1930s, who retired from the business in 1937 when she was about 40 years old. As a young girl Etting had wanted to become an artist and from the age of 16 attended art school in Chicago. While working at the Marigold Gardens nightclub, she decided to give up art classes in favour of a career in show business and went on to perform regularly on the Broadway stage.

Many of her 60 hit songs were early versions of Great American Songbook classics from the popular musicals and revues of the era. This 71-track 3CD collection comprises all her 62 records which are listed as hits, along with selected other recordings of some of the great songs of the time from her releases on the Columbia, Melotone, Brunswick, Banner and Decca labels. It features her No.1 with Life Is A Song, and her other classic hits ’Deed I Do, Love Me Or Leave Me, Back In Your Own Back Yard, Ten Cents A Dance, I’ll Get By, Mean To Me, Guilty, Body And Soul, Smoke Gets In Your Eyes, Try A Little Tenderness and many more. On turning her back on celebrity, Etting settled in Colorado Springs and lived a quiet life before her passing at the age of 81 in 1978. Etting’s life was the basis for the fictionalised 1955 film, Love Me or Leave Me which starred Doris Day (as Etting) alongside James Cagney and Cameron Mitchell.

This collection offers a thoroughly enjoyable showcase for a performer who was a highly distinctive vocalist, with a personal way with a song, and her music was very much of its era.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Let's Talk About My Sweetie Ruth Etting


Lonesome And Sorry Ruth Etting
3 But I Do, You Know I Do Ruth Etting
4 (I've Grown So Lonesome) Thinking Of You Ruth Etting
5 Deed I Do Ruth Etting
6 Sam The Old Accordion Man Ruth Etting
7 It All Depends On You Ruth Etting
8 Hoosier Sweetheart (Say Who) Ruth Etting
9 Wistful And Blue Ruth Etting
10 (What Do We Do) On A Dew-Dew-Dewy Day Ruth Etting
11 After You've Gone Ruth Etting
12 I'm Nobody's Baby Ruth Etting
13 It All Belongs To Me Ruth Etting
14 Shaking The Blues Away Ruth Etting
15 The Song Is Ended (But The Melody Lingers On) Ruth Etting
16 Together We Two Ruth Etting
17 Keep Sweeping Cobwebs Off The Moon Ted Lewis & His Band With Ruth Etting
18 Back In Your Own Back Yard Ruth Etting
19 When You're With Somebody Else Ruth Etting
20 Ramona Ruth Etting
21 Say Yes Today Ruth Etting
22 Because My Baby Don't Mean Maybe Now Ruth Etting
23 Beloved Ruth Etting
24 Happy Days And Lonely Nights Ruth Etting
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Sonny Boy Ruth Etting
2 My Blackbirds Are Bluebirds Now Ruth Etting
3 Love Me Or Leave Me Ruth Etting
4 I'm Bringing A Red Red Rose Ruth Etting
5 You're The Cream In My Coffee Ruth Etting
6 I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You) Ruth Etting
7 Glad Rag Doll Ruth Etting
8 Mean To Me Ruth Etting
9 Button Up Your Overcoat Ruth Etting
10 Deep Night Ruth Etting
11 Ain't Misbehavin' Ruth Etting
12 What Wouldn’t I Do For That Man Ruth Etting
13 The Right Kind Of Man Ruth Etting
14 More Than You Know Ruth Etting
15 Cryin' For The Carolines Ruth Etting
16 Ten Cents A Dance Ruth Etting
17 A Cottage For Sale Ruth Etting
18 Exactly Like You Ruth Etting
19 It Happened In Monterey Ruth Etting
20 Dancing With Tears In My Eyes Ruth Etting
21 The Kiss Waltz Ruth Etting
22 Don't Tell Her What Happened To Me Ruth Etting
23 Body And Soul Ruth Etting
Disc 3
Track Title Artist
1 Just A Little Closer Ruth Etting
2 I'll Be Blue Just Thinking Of You (From Now On) Ruth Etting
3 Laughing At Life Ruth Etting
4 Reaching For The Moon Ruth Etting
5 Overnight Ruth Etting
6 Love Is Like That (What Can You Do)? Ruth Etting
7 Falling In Love Again Ruth Etting
8 Were You Sincere Ruth Etting
9 Moonlight Saving Time Ruth Etting
10 I'm Good For Nothing But Love Ruth Etting
11 Now That You're Gone Ruth Etting
12 Guilty Ruth Etting
13 Good Night Sweetheart Ruth Etting
14 Cuban Love Song Ruth Etting
15 When We're Alone (Penthouse Serenade) Ruth Etting
16 The Night When Love Was Born Ruth Etting
17 It Was So Beautiful Ruth Etting
18 Try A Little Tenderness Ruth Etting
19 Smoke Gets In Your Eyes Ruth Etting
20 With My Eyes Wide Open I'm Dreaming Ruth Etting
21 Life Is A Song (Let's Sing It Together) Ruth Etting
22 Shine On Harvest Moon Ruth Etting
23 In The Chapel In The Moonlight Ruth Etting
24 May I Have The Next Romance With You Ruth Etting
  • Artist:
    Ruth Etting
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    December 2023
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: