Trapeze Catalogue

Roy Rogers - Happy Trails: The Collection 1938-52

Roy Rogers - Happy Trails: The Collection 1938-52

Stock Status: In Stock

Born Leonard Franklin Slye in Ohio, Roy Rogers was one of the most prominent of the singing cowboys, forging a career as a singer and actor in western movies during the 1930s.

Following in the footsteps of Gene Autry, who he took over from as the main star at Republic Pictures in 1938, he became the “King Of The Singing Cowboys” after appearing in more than 100 films and became the star of his own TV show. Throughout his career he also recorded prolifically, initially as a member of The Sons Of The Pioneers, but then as a solo artist.

This 55-track collection features selected A and B sides from his releases on the Vocalion, Decca and RCA labels during this era. Across two CDs, the compilation includes his pop and country chart entries from these years, Hi-Yo Silver, A Little White Cross On The Hill, My Chickasay Gal and Stampede, as well as the theme song of his TV show Happy Trails. His music was firmly rooted in the ethos of the cowboy west, and the traditions of the trail, with many of his releases being with songs featured in his films, like the movie title songs Colorado Sunset, On The Old Spanish Trail, The Yellow Rose Of Texas and Along The Navajo Trail.

Rogers was twice elected to the Country Music Hall of Fame, first as a member of the Sons of the Pioneers in 1980, and again as a soloist in 1988. As of August 2022, he remains the only person elected to achieve this. He died of congestive heart failure on 6 July 1998, aged 86, in California. This collection is a relaxed and unhurried showcase for a performer who typified his particular brand of evocative cowboy country.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Dust Roy Rogers
2 Listen To The Rhythm Of The Range Roy Rogers
3 Hi Ho Silver Roy Rogers
4 Old Pioneer Roy Rogers
5 When The Sun Is Setting On The Prairie Roy Rogers
6 Colorado Sunset Roy Rogers
7 Born To The Saddle Roy Rogers
8 Somebody's Smile Roy Rogers
9 Ridin' Down The Old Trail Roy Rogers
10 Man In The Moon Is A Cow-Hand Roy Rogers
11 I've Learned A Lot About Women Roy Rogers
12 You Waited Too Long Roy Rogers
13 Chapel In The Valley Roy Rogers
14 Melody Of The Plains Roy Rogers
15 Yesterday Roy Rogers
16 I'm Trusting In You Roy Rogers
17 Down By The Old Alamo Roy Rogers
18 Blue Bonnet Lane Roy Rogers
19 Dont Waste Your Love On Me Roy Rogers
20 You're The Answer To My Prayer Roy Rogers
21 Little Old Church On The Hilltop Roy Rogers
22 I've Sold My Saddle For An Old Guitar Roy Rogers
23 Along The Navajo Trail Roy Rogers
24 You Can't Break My Heart Roy Rogers
25 Rock Me To Sleep In My Saddle Roy Rogers
26 A Little White Cross On The Hill Roy Rogers
27 My Heart Went That-Away Roy Rogers
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 My Chickashay Gal Roy Rogers
2 Dangerous Ground Roy Rogers
3 On The Old Spanish Trail Roy Rogers
4 Saddle Serenade Roy Rogers
5 Blue Shadows On The Trail Roy Rogers and The Sons of the Pioneers
6 Old Fashioned Cowboy Roy Rogers
7 Hasta La Vista Roy Rogers
8 Don't Fence Me In Roy Rogers
9 The Yellow Rose Of Texas Roy Rogers
10 San Fernando Valley Roy Rogers
11 Home In Oklahoma Roy Rogers
12 The Kid With The Rip In His Pants Roy Rogers
13 That Miss From Mississippi Roy Rogers
14 That Palomino Pal O’ Mine Roy Rogers and The Sons of the Pioneers
15 Stampede Roy Rogers and The Sons of the Pioneers
16 Peter Cottontail Roy Rogers
17 Buffalo Billy Roy Rogers
18 Smiles Are Made Of Sunshine Roy Rogers & Dale Evans
19 Frosty The Snowman Roy Rogers
20 Yellow Bonnets And Polka Dot Shoes Roy Rogers & Dale Evans
21 Ride Son, Ride Roy Rogers
22 Cowboy's Heaven Roy Rogers
23 I Wish I Wuz Roy Rogers
24 The Lamp Of Faith Roy Rogers & Dale Evans
25 Easter Parade Roy Rogers & Dale Evans
26 Four Legged Friend Roy Rogers
27 Happy Trails Roy Rogers & Dale Evans
28 (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley Roy Rogers
  • Artist:
    Roy Rogers
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    September 2023
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: