Trapeze Catalogue

Ritchie Valens The Complete Releases 1958-60 (2CD)

Ritchie Valens The Complete Releases 1958-60 (2CD)

Stock Status: In Stock

Ritchie Valens was one of leading lights in what became known as the Chicano style of rock music from the Mexican-American community of the USA, often sung in Spanish and heavily influenced by R&B, and often with a Latin flavour. He is also, of course, well-known for more tragic reasons, namely that he was one of the three rock n roll stars along with Buddy Holly and The Big Bopper who died in the fateful light aeroplane crash in Iowa on February 3rd 1959 this release marks the 60th anniversary of that fateful day, immortalised in Don McLean's 1971 hit American Pie as The Day The Music Died. Ritchie was still only 17 years old when he died, but in his brief eight-month recording career he had already had three hits, two of which were in the Top 100 at the time of the accident.

This collection comprises all his releases through to 1962, including the A and B sides of his singles for the Del-Fi label and all the tracks from his two studio albums 'Ritchie Valens' and 'Ritchie', which were not otherwise on his singles. It also includes all the tracks from his album In Concert At Pacoima Jr. High, which has one side that features live recordings from one of his performances, the other side comprising unfinished demos with narrative by Bob Keane, owner of the Del-Fi label. It naturally includes his No. 2 US hit Donna along with its famous hit B side La Bamba, along with his other hits Come On, Lets Go, That's My Little Suzie and Little Girl. Its an evocative showcase for a young talent who made a notable impact during his tragically brief career.


“ This double CD has a 16-page booklet and 35 tracks to remind  us of his sizeable body of work…” ***** - John Howard (Vintage Rock Issue 41)

“I really enjoyed hearing all his familiar material again and hope it gets the interest it deserves. A thumbs up from me.” – Eric Dunsdon (Now Dig This Issue 433)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Come On, Let's Go  Ritchie Valens
2 Framed Ritchie Valens
3 Donna  Ritchie Valens
4 La Bamba Ritchie Valens
5 That's My Little Suzie  Ritchie Valens
6 In A Turkish Town Ritchie Valens
7 Little Girl  Ritchie Valens
8 We Belong Together Ritchie Valens
9 Stay Beside Me  Ritchie Valens
10 Big Baby Blues Ritchie Valens
11 Cry, Cry, Cry  Ritchie Valens
12 Paddiwack Song Ritchie Valens
13 Boney Moronie Ritchie Valens
14 Ooh, My Head Ritchie Valens
15 Bluebirds Over the Mountain Ritchie Valens
16 Hi-Tone Ritchie Valens
17 Dooby-Dooby-Wah Ritchie Valens
18 My Darling Is Gone Ritchie Valens
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Hurry Up Ritchie Valens
2 Now You're Gone Ritchie Valens
3 Fast Freight Ritchie Valens
4 Ritchie's Blues Ritchie Valens
5 Rockin' All Night Ritchie Valens
6 Introduction by Bob Keane Ritchie Valens
7 Come On, Let's Go Ritchie Valens
8 Donna Ritchie Valens
9 Summertime Blues Ritchie Valens
10 From Beyond Ritchie Valens
11 La Bamba Ritchie Valens
12 Introduction by Bob Keane Ritchie Valens
13 Rhythm Song Ritchie Valens
14 Guitar Instrumental Ritchie Valens
15 Malaguena Ritchie Valens
16 Rock Little Darling Ritchie Valens
17 Let's Rock and Roll Ritchie Valens

  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    February 2019
  • Artist:
    Ritchie Valens
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: