Label Partners Shop

Norman Dello Joio - The Trial At Rouen

Norman Dello Joio - The Trial At Rouen

Stock Status: In Stock

The story of Joan of Arc fascinated Norman Dello Joio and inspired three operas and a symphony.

With a libretto by the composer, The Trial At Rouen is a one-act opera in two scenes. It premiered on NBC Television Opera Theatre in April 1956. BMOP/sound is proud to present the operas first commercial recording. Dello Joios first attempt at a Joan of Arc opera was presented at Sarah Lawrence College, but later withdrawn. He reworked it into The Triumph of Saint Joan Symphony, one of his most popular works.

Talking to The New York Times, Dello Joio, said: The writing of the two-act libretto gave me infinitely more work than the music. It was conceived in terms of grand opera and a large stage, though I was aware of how few theatres exist here that could handle it. But there could be no compromise in this: the subject demands an epic treatment.


The excellence of the recording, and its impressive cast, put The Trial at Rouen in the best possible light; its an opera that deserves to be widely heard.

  • Artist:
    Norman Dello Joio
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    February 2021
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: