Trapeze Catalogue

Mel Tormé - The Chart Years: Selected Singles 1949-62

Mel Tormé - The Chart Years: Selected Singles 1949-62

Stock Status: In Stock

Singer, musician, composer and actor Mel Tormé was one of the influential hit-making vocalists who emerged in the post-war years, although Tormé, as a fine jazz performer and successful songwriter, transcended the description of “crooner” often applied to his contemporaries.

Making his debut when still in his teens, he had been recording since the latter years of World War Two and had written the classic hit The Christmas Song, before signing to Capitol in 1949.

This 52-track collection comprises selected A- and B-sides of his releases on the Capitol, Coral, Bethlehem, Verve and Atlantic labels during these years, including duets with Peggy Lee and Margaret Whiting – the creative orientation of some of those labels underlines the jazz dimension of his output.

It features all his chart entries from this era, including the US No.1 Careless Hands and the Top 10 hits Again, The Four Winds And The Seven Seas and Bewitched. UK Top 20 hits Mountain Greenery and Comin’ Home Baby also appear.

The recordings include some of the most noted arranger/conductors of the day, including Nelson Riddle, Billy May, Neal Hefti, Frank De Vol, Pete Rugolo, Marty Paich, Sonny Burke and others. It’s a fine showcase for one of the era’s classiest and most versatile performers. This collection perfectly complements Acrobat’s Mel Tormé - The Early Years 1944-47 (ACTRCD9086), released in August 2019.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Careless Hands Mel Torme
2 She's A Home Girl Mel Torme
3 Again Mel Torme
4 Blue Moon Mel Torme
5 You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me Mel Torme
6 There Isn't Any Special Reason Mel Torme
7 The Four Winds And The Seven Seas Mel Torme
8 Meadows Of Heaven Mel Torme
9 There's A Broken Heart For Every Light On Broadway Mel Torme
10 Oh You Beautiful Doll Mel Torme
11 The Old Master Painter Peggy Lee And Mel Torme
12 Bless You (For The Good That's In You) Peggy Lee And Mel Torme
13 I Hadn't Anyone Till You Mel Torme
14 Cross Your Heart Mel Torme
15 The Piccolino Mel Torme
16 Bewitched Mel Torme
17 Do, Do, Do Mel Torme
18 I Owe A Kiss To A Girl In Iowa Mel Torme
19 Skylark Mel Torme
20 Lullaby Of The Leaves Mel Torme
21 The One For Me Mel Torme
22 Don't Fan The Flame Peggy Lee And Mel Torme
23 Telling Me Yes, Telling Me No Peggy Lee And Mel Torme
24 My Buddy Mel Torme
25 You're A Heavenly Thing Mel Torme
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Black Moonlight Mel Torme
2 Anywhere I Wander Mel Torme
3 Blue Skies Mel Torme
4 The Anything Can Happen Mambo Mel Torme
5 Just One More Chance Mel Torme
6 Tutti Frutti Mel Torme
7 I'se A Muggin' Mel Torme
8 All Of You Mel Torme
9 Spellbound Mel Torme
10 Rose O'Day Mel Torme
11 It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) Mel Torme
12 Goody Goody Mel Torme
13 Jeepers Creepers Mel Torme
14 My Rosemarie Mel Torme
15 Mountain Greenery Mel Torme
16 Bernie's Tune Mel Torme
17 Lulu's Back In Town Mel Torme
18 Keeping Myself For You Mel Torme
19 At The Crossroads (Malaguena) Mel Torme
20 Frenesi Mel Torme
21 Walk Like A Dragon Mel Torme
22 Hey, Look Me Over Margaret Whiting & Mel Torme
23 What's New At The Zoo Margaret Whiting & Mel Torme
24 Her Face Mel Torme
25 Yes Indeed Mel Torme
26 Comin' Home Baby Mel Torme
27 Right Now Mel Torme
  • Artist:
    Mel Tormé
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    December 2021
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: