Trapeze Catalogue

Marilyn Monroe Collection 1949-62 (2CD)

Marilyn Monroe Collection 1949-62 (2CD)

Stock Status: In Stock

Marilyn Monroe was legendarily one of the most iconic personalities of the post-war era, an almost impossibly glamorous film actress and one of the showbiz figures who came to encapsulate the essence her times and how they are remembered. Best-known, of course, as a film actress, she was also a much-underrated singer, which could turn her hand to a variety of different material in when singing in her films, and had a highly individual and seductive vocal in her sadly somewhat limited studio output.

This 34-track 2-CD set brings together most of the extant recorded examples of her performing in a musical environment. Most of these, inevitably and quite reasonably, are performances from the soundtracks of her movies, the primary exceptions being titles she recorded for RCA outside of a movie environment in 1954, and the legendary performance of Happy Birthday for President John F. Kennedy at Madison Square Garden in 1962 a few months before her tragic and untimely death. The films from which songs in this collection are taken are Ladies Of The Chorus, Niagara, The French Doll, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, River Of No Return, There's No Business Like Show Business, The Seven Year Itch, Bus Stop, The Prince And The Showgirl, and Some Like It Hot. (It does not include a recording of When I Fall In Love which has sometimes been attributed to Marilyn by other compilers, but is generally recognised as having been performed by Sandra Dee). Its a fascinating and revealing showcase of an aspect of Monroes varied talents and attributes which has sometimes been ignored.


"Obviously the best qualities of MM were best captured by the camera, but this is a fascinating and entertaining set…" - Gerry Stonestreet (In Tune Issue 323)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Ladies Of The Chorus Adele Jergens & Marilyn Monroe
2 Every Baby Needs A Da Da Daddy Marilyn Monroe
3 Anyone Can See I Love You Marilyn Monroe
4 Kiss Marilyn Monroe
5 Do It Again Marilyn Monroe
6 Two Little Girls From Little Rock Jane Russell & Marilyn Monroe
7 Bye Bye Baby Jane Russell & Marilyn Monroe
8 Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend Marilyn Monroe
9 When Love Goes Wrong Jane Russell & Marilyn Monroe
10 She Acts Like A Woman Should Marilyn Monroe
11 (This Is) A Fine Romance Marilyn Monroe
12 The River Of No Return Marilyn Monroe
13 I'm Gonna File My Claim Marilyn Monroe
14 One Silver Dollar Marilyn Monroe
15 Down In The Meadow Marilyn Monroe
16 After You Get What You Want You Won't Want It Marilyn Monroe
17 Heat Wave Marilyn Monroe
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 A Man Chases A Girl Donald O'Connor & Marilyn Monroe
2 Lazy Marilyn Monroe
3 You'd Be Surprised Marilyn Monroe
4 Alexander's Ragtime Band/There's No Business Like Show Business Ethel Merman, Marilyn Monroe, Donald O'Connor & Johnny Ray
5 "Rachmaninov" & "Chopsticks" Marilyn Monroe & Tom Ewell
6 That Old Black Magic Marilyn Monroe
7 I Found A Dream Marilyn Monroe & Laurence Olivier
8 I'm Through With Love Marilyn Monroe
9 I Wanna Be Loved By You Marilyn Monroe
10 Running Wild Marilyn Monroe
11 Some Like It Hot Marilyn Monroe
12 My Heart Belongs To Daddy Marilyn Monroe
13 Let's Make Love Frankie Vaughan & Marilyn Monroe
14 Incurably Romantic Marilyn Monroe & Yves Montand
15 Incurably Romantic Frankie Vaughan & Marilyn Monroe
16 Specialization Frankie Vaughan & Marilyn Monroe
17 Happy Birthday Mr. President /Thanks For The Memory Marilyn Monroe
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    November 2018
  • Artist:
    Marilyn Monroe
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: