Other Labels

Las Lloronas - Soaked

Las Lloronas - Soaked

Stock Status: In Stock

Las Lloronas are a talented three-piece, from Brussels, whose debut album Soaked is an emotional affair brimming with intimate lyrics and melancholic melodies.

Expressions of fear, sorrow and joy are delivered with fierce honesty and fascinating musicality across 14 tracks. Featuring Amber in t Veld  (vocals, guitar), Marieke Werner (clarinet, vocals) and Sura Solomon (vocals, accordion, ukulele), Las Lloronas started out as street musicians in 2017 with a shared passion for sociology, activism and art.

Explaining how their collective inspirations translated into music on Soaked, Las Lloronas said: We have been inspired, from the very beginning, by a fascinating element which connects folk music from different cultures. It is this faculty to express pure and deep emotions, and which results in raw music, which comes from gut. It is this strength that allows musicians and spectators to live a common experience, and to be soaked  in a sensation that goes beyond words to speak straight to the body.

We live this experience in small cafes, in village squares or in the warmth of a living room. People sing and dance for each other, the music is both catharsis and celebration, and is shared and consumed not as a commercial object, but as a human experience that goes back to the origin of the world.

Soaked has already enjoyed airplay on Lopa Kotharis BBC Radio 3 programme Music Planet and garnered widespread favourable reviews.

Clive Davis wrote in The Sunday Times: Its light, its beautiful, its haunting this trio weave pensive songs that marry folk and world music idioms with a dash of vibrant poetry. .

  • Artist:
    Las Lloronas
  • Discs:
  • EAN:
  • Release:
    March 2021
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: