Trapeze Catalogue

Kate Smith - Hello Everybody! The Collection 1926-50

Kate Smith - Hello Everybody! The Collection 1926-50

Stock Status: In Stock

Kate Smith was a singer very much in the traditional mode, who had big hits soon after she began her career in the 1920s, and remained hugely popular long into the post-war decades. Known variously as “The First Lady Of Radio” and “The Songbird Of The South”, she commanded a large broadcast audience that continued into the TV era in the ‘50s – her signature greeting on her radio shows was “Hello Everybody!“

A childhood singing sensation, she entertained the troops at Army camps in the Washington area during World War I before becoming a vaudeville performer in D.C. theatres. Gaining her big break playing alongside Eddie Dowling, she was a homely-looking lady and defied the norms of the business, which usually demanded its pop performers be glamorous and lissom. Her distinctive image became a factor in her success. She became especially famous for her hits with patriotic songs like Star Spangled Banner and God Bless America, but also courted controversy early in her career with songs with potentially racial implications.

This 94-track, 4CD, set comprises selected A- and B-sides from her releases on the Columbia, Velvet Tone, Clarion, Harmony, Brunswick, Decca, Victor, MGM and National labels during this era. This collection features her 25 chart entries from these years, including the No.1s River Stay ’Way From My Door and When The Moon Comes Over The Mountain, plus inspiring Top 10 wartime hits like White Cliffs Of Dover, and versions of hot new songs of the moment like The Woodpecker Song.

She was highly versatile, able to give any kind of repertoire her personal touch, and this collection offers an enjoyable and enlightening showcase for her distinctive talent.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 The Little White House Kate Smith
2 One Sweet Letter From You Kate Smith
3 Just Another Day Wasted Away Kate Smith
4 In The Evening Kate Smith
5 Maybe, Who Knows? Kate Smith
6 Waiting At The End Of The Road Kate Smith
7 Love, Your Magic Spell Is Everywhere Kate Smith
8 Chant Of The Jungle Kate Smith
9 Sharing Kate Smith
10 Maybe It's Love Kate Smith
11 Dancing With Tears In My Eyes Kate Smith
12 You'll Be Coming Back To Me Kate Smith
13 Held By The Spell Of The Moon Kate Smith
14 You Don't Want Me Anymore Kate Smith
15 Morning, Noon And Night Kate Smith
16 Overnight Kate Smith
17 Wabash Moon Kate Smith
18 Now's The Time Kate Smith
19 Makin' Faces At The Man In The Moon Kate Smith
20 Shine On Harvest Moon Kate Smith
21 Goodnight Sweetheart Kate Smith
22 River Stay 'Way From My Door Kate Smith
23 Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea Kate Smith
24 When The Moon Comes Over The Mountain Kate Smith
Disc 2:
Track Title Artist
1 I Don't Know Why Kate Smith
2 That's Why Darkies Were Born Kate Smith
3 Too Late Guy Lombardo & His Royal Canadians with Kate Smith
4 Twenty-One Years Kate Smith
5 Snuggled On Your Shoulder (Cuddled In Your Arms) Kate Smith
6 My Mom Kate Smith
7 Medley "Face The Music" Ben Selvin & His Orch. With Kate Smith, Jack Miller & The Three Nitecaps
8 My Queen Of Lullaby Land Kate Smith
9 Moon Song (That Wasn't Meant For Me) Kate Smith
10 I'm Growing Fonder Of You Kate Smith
11 College Rhythm Kate Smith
12 The Continental (You Kiss While You Dance) Kate Smith
13 Bei Mir Bist Du Schon Kate Smith
14 You're A Sweetheart Kate Smith
15 Star Spangled Banner Kate Smith
16 God Bless America Kate Smith
17 It's Never Too Late Kate Smith
18 Don't Worry 'Bout Me Kate Smith
19 If I Had My Way Kate Smith
20 I'm Stepping Out With A Memory Tonight Kate Smith
21 The Woodpecker Song Kate Smith
22 When You Wish Upon A Star Kate Smith
23 Imagination Kate Smith
Disc 3:
Track Title Artist
1 The Lord Done Fixed Up My Soul Kate Smith
2 Can't Get Indiana Off My Mind Kate Smith
3 Trade Winds Kate Smith
4 A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square Kate Smith
5 The Last Time I Saw Paris Kate Smith
6 Somewhere Kate Smith
7 It's Sad, But True Kate Smith
8 We're All Americans All True Blue Kate Smith
9 Kiss Me Again Kate Smith
10 You And I Kate Smith
11 Dancing In A Dream With You Kate Smith
12 Time Was Kate Smith
13 My Melancholy Baby Kate Smith
14 Rose O'Day ((The Filla-ga-dusha Song) Kate Smith
15 (There'll Be Bluebirds Over) The White Cliffs of Dover Kate Smith
16 I Don't Want To Walk Without You Kate Smith
17 America, I Love You Kate Smith
18 When The Roses Bloom Again Kate Smith
19 How Do I Know It's Real Kate Smith
20 This Time Kate Smith
21 I Threw A Kiss In The Ocean Kate Smith
22 We'll Meet Again Kate Smith
23 One Dozen Roses Kate Smith
24 This Is Worth Fighting For Kate Smith
Disc 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Be Careful, It's My Heart Kate Smith
2 He Wears A Pair Of Silver Wings Kate Smith
3 A Boy In Khaki, A Girl In Lace Kate Smith
4 Time On My Hands Kate Smith
5 Embraceable You Kate Smith
6 Don't Fence Me In Kate Smith
7 There Goes That Song Again Kate Smith
8 All Of My Life Kate Smith
9 And There You Are Kate Smith
10 Tumbling Tumbleweeds Kate Smith
11 Seems Like Old Times Kate Smith
12 Sioux City Sue Kate Smith
13 If I Had My Life To Live Over Kate Smith
14 After Graduation Day Kate Smith
15 Tallahassee Kate Smith
16 Tomorrow Kate Smith
17 It Had To Be You Kate Smith
18 Now Is The Hour Kate Smith
19 Long After Tonight Kate Smith
20 Tell Me (Tell Me Why) Kate Smith
21 A Million Miles Away Kate Smith
22 Foggy River Kate Smith
23 Little Bitty Baby Kate Smith
  • Artist:
    Kate Smith
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    September 2022
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: