Johnny Burnette - Tear It Up: The Rockabilly Years 1956-59

Johnny Burnette - Tear It Up: The Rockabilly Years 1956-59

Stock Status: Sold Out
Johnny Burnette - Tear It Up: The Rockabilly Years 1956-59

Johnny Burnette had two distinct phases in his career. Many will remember his Liberty years, the teen idol performing polished pop such as Dreamin’, You’re Sixteen and Little Boy Sad. Before this transformation though, he was Rockabilly through and through. With his visceral vocals and the driving rhythms of his brother Dorsey and his Rock ‘n’ Roll Trio, Johnny Burnette laid down some of the finest rockabilly tracks of all time.

This collection concentrates on that era. It is not about conquering charts or sales successes, but highlights the pure power, energy and spirit of the music that helped form rock ‘n’ roll. Featuring most of Burnette’s recorded singles up to his commercial breakthrough in 1960 including the immortal Tear It Up, the distorted chugging’s of The Train Kept A-Rollin’ and Honey Hush, through to the distinctly mad Gumbo. Growing up alongside childhood pal Elvis Presley, Burnette not only stubbornly clung to his roots, he also pursued a parallel career as a brilliant songwriter. Tracking down Ricky Nelson in LA, he went on to write some of the most well loved hits of Nelson’s career.

This is bold, brash and in your face. This is Rockabilly baby!

Track Listing

Side A
1 Tear It Up
2 You're Undecided
3 Oh Baby Babe
4 The Train Kept A-Rollin'
5 Honey Hush
6 Lonesome Train (On a Lonesome Track)
7 Eager Beaver Baby
8 Touch Me
9 Butterfingers

Side B
1 Drinking Wine, Spo-Dee-O-Dee, Drinking Wine
2 Rock Billy Boogie
3 Blues Stay Away From Me
4 Warm Love
5 Kiss Me
6 I'm Restless
7 Me And The Bear
8 Gumbo
9 Sweet Baby Doll

  • UPC:
  • Release:
    August 2023
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: