Other Labels

John Harbison - String Concertos

John Harbison - String Concertos

Stock Status: In Stock

Composer John Harbison has been a mainstay in Boston for decades and has been a friend to BMOP since the beginning.

His concertos for strings is Harbison’s fourth disc on BMOP/sound, spanning works from 1990 to 2010. Edwin Barker displays how nimble the bass can be on Concerto For Bass Viol And Orchestra.

Marcus Thompson is the virtuosic violist Harbison never was on his Concerto For Viola and Orchestra. While, twin sisters Emily and Julia Bruskin tackle “slight misunderstandings,” mirror images, and finally simply playing a theme together, in Double Concerto For Violin, Violincello, And Orchestra.

Pulitzer Prize-winning critic, Lloyd Schwartz, said: “Gil Rose and BMOP have been among John Harbison’s most crucial advocates. These three fascinating string concertos are a welcome addition to one of our most important living composer’s catalogue of recordings.”

  • Artist:
    John Harbison
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    February 2021
  • Brand:
    Boston Modern Orchestra Project
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: