Trapeze Catalogue

Jim Reeves The Complete Singles As & Bs 1949-62 (3CD)

Jim Reeves The Complete Singles As & Bs 1949-62 (3CD)

Stock Status: In Stock

Jim Reeves - widely known as Gentleman Jim - was one of the most successful and important country artists of the 1950s and early 60s, his rich, velvet voice bringing a unique sound and style, which was in the vanguard of the new Nashville sound, as the music headed away from honky-tonk fiddles and steel guitars as introduced strings and backing choruses, helping to move the genre towards the pop mainstream. Despite his tragic death in a plane crash in 1964, he was nevertheless able to rack up nearly 50 hits during his lifetime and became one of the most influential personalities in country music in the post-war era.

This great-value 80-track 3-CD set comprises the A & B sides of all his singles from his recording debut for the Macys label in 1949 through to 1962, and includes his recordings for the Abbott and RCA labels during those years, plus a duet performance with Ginny Wright released on the Fabor label. It naturally features all his 37 pop and country hits from the era, including the No. 1s Mexican Joe, Bimbo, Billy Bayou, Four Walls and the international smash hit Hell Have To Go, which provided his UK chart breakthrough in 1960.

Covering, as it does, the first 15 years or so of his career, it charts the development of his style and sound during an era when country music was becoming more consciously commercial, and experienced the impact of the rock n roll explosion in the mid-50s, following it through into the early years of a decade when he very much flew the flag for country music as the British Invasion brought about more musical changes. Its a fine showcase for one of the genres most enduring stars.


“These great recordings highlight the changes that Reeves made to his repertoire and style with enough excellent performances to keep you occupied.” - Howard Cockburn (Now Dig This)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 My Heart's Like A Welcome Mat Jim Reeves
2 Teardrops Of Regret Jim Reeves
3 Chicken Hearted Jim Reeves
4 I've Never Been So Blue Jim Reeves
5 What Were You Doing (Last Night) Jim Reeves
6 Wagon Load Of Love Jim Reeves
7 Mexican Joe Jim Reeves
8 I Could Cry (Non-Album Track) Jim Reeves
9 Butterfly Love Jim Reeves
10 Let Me Love You Just A Little Jim Reeves
11 El Rancho Del Rio Jim Reeves
12 It's Hard To Love Just One Jim Reeves
13 Bimbo Jim Reeves
14 Gypsy Heart Jim Reeves
15 I Love You  Jim Reeves With Ginny Wright
16 Then I'll Stop Loving You Jim Reeves
17 Echo Bonita Jim Reeves
18 Beatin' On The Ding Dong Jim Reeves
19 My Rambling Heart Jim Reeves
20 Padre Of Old San Antone Jim Reeves
21 Mother Went A-Walking Jim Reeves
22 Penny Candy Jim Reeves
23 I'll Follow You Jim Reeves
24 Where Does A Broken Heart Go? Jim Reeves
25 The Wilder Your Heart Beats The Sweeter You Love Jim Reeves
26 Drinking Tequila Jim Reeves
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Red Eyed And Rowdy Jim Reeves
2 Tahiti Jim Reeves
3 Give Me One More Kiss Jim Reeves
4 Yonder Comes A Sucker Jim Reeves
5 I'm Hurtin' Inside Jim Reeves
6 Are You The One  Jim Reeves With Alvadean Coker
7 How Many (From Bimbo) Jim Reeves
8 Hillbilly Waltz Jim Reeves
9 Let Me Remember (The Things I Can't Forget) Jim Reeves
10 Jimbo Jenkins Jim Reeves
11 I've Lived A Lot In My Time Jim Reeves
12 If You Were Mine Jim Reeves
13 That's A Sad Affair Jim Reeves
14 My Lips Are Sealed Jim Reeves
15 Pickin' A Chicken Jim Reeves
16 According To My Heart Jim Reeves
17 The Mother Of A Honky Tonk Girl  Jim Reeves With Carol Johnson
18 Am I Losing You Jim Reeves
19 Waitin' For A Train Jim Reeves
20 Four Walls Jim Reeves
21 I Know And You Know Jim Reeves
22 Two Shadows On Your Window Jim Reeves
23 Young Hearts Jim Reeves
24 Anna Marie Jim Reeves
25 Everywhere You Go Jim Reeves
26 Overnight Jim Reeves
27 I Love You More Jim Reeves
Disc 3
Track Title Artist
1 Blue Boy Jim Reeves
2 Theme Of Love Jim Reeves
3 Billy Bayou Jim Reeves
4 I'd Like To Be Jim Reeves
5 Home Jim Reeves
6 If Heartache Is The Fashion Jim Reeves
7 Partners Jim Reeves
8 I'm Beginning To Forget You Jim Reeves
9 He'll Have to Go Jim Reeves
10 In A Mansion Stands My Love Jim Reeves
11 I'm Gettin' Better Jim Reeves
12 I Know One Jim Reeves
13 I Missed Me Jim Reeves
14 Am I Losing You  Jim Reeves
15 Whispering Hope Jim Reeves
16 The Blizzard Jim Reeves
17 Danny Boy Jim Reeves
18 What Would You Do? Jim Reeves
19 Stand At Your Window Jim Reeves
20 Losing Your Love Jim Reeves
21 (How Can I Write On Paper) What I Feel In My Heart Jim Reeves
22 A Letter To My Heart Jim Reeves
23 Adios Amigo Jim Reeves
24 I'm Gonna Change Everything Jim Reeves
25 Pride Goes Before A Fall Jim Reeves
26 You're the Only Good Thing (That's Happened to Me) Jim Reeves
27 Oh, How I Miss You Tonight Jim Reeves
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    May 2018
  • Artist:
    Jim Reeves
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: