Acrobat CD

Ink Spots - The Hits Collection 1939-51

Ink Spots - The Hits Collection 1939-51

Stock Status: In Stock

The Ink Spots, along with the Mills Brothers, were one of the leading early doowop vocal groups during the decades spanning Word War Two. Bringing together the influences of barber-shop quartets, gospel and jazz to create a sound and style that appealed to the mainstream pop market, The Ink Spots are celebrated as one of the most pioneering vocal collectives of all time.

In 1989, they were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as “early influences” by Bobby McFerrin and in 1999, they joined the Vocal Group Hall of Fame. Employing a distinctive guitar introduction, and using the “top and bottom” technique that contrasted the high tenor lead vocal of Bill Kenny with the bass voice of Orville Jones delivering a spoken verse, they developed a successful formula that was all their own.

Between 1939 and 1951 they had around 50 hits in the various incarnations of the charts and Acrobat are unable to include all of them in this joyous 48-track collection. However, across the two discs, listeners will find all their Top 30 pop hits and all their Top 10 R&B hits, plus a few more, including those with Ella Fitzgerald. It’s a concentrated 2CD presentation of their very best recordings,  and  features the No.1s Address Unknown, We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me), I’m Making Believe, Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall, The Gypsy, and To Each His Own plus the R&B No.1s I Can’t Stand Losing You and Don’t Get Around Much Anymore.

A marvellous showcase for their unique style of music and their highly individual treatments of some of the era’s finest songs.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 If I Didn't Care Ink Spots
2 You Bring Me Down Ink Spots
3 Address Unknown Ink Spots
4 My Prayer Ink Spots
5 Bless You Ink Spots
6 I'm Getting Sentimental Over You Ink Spots
7 When The Swallows Come Back To Capistrano Ink Spots
8 Whispering Grass (Don't Tell The Trees) Ink Spots
9 Maybe Ink Spots
10 Stop Pretending Ink Spots
11 You're Breaking My Heart All Over Again Ink Spots
12 We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me) Ink Spots
13 My Greatest Mistake Ink Spots
14 Java Jive Ink Spots
15 Do I Worry Ink Spots
16 Please Take A Letter Miss Brown Ink Spots
17 I'm Still Without A Sweetheart ('Cause I'm Still In Love With Yo Ink Spots
18 So Sorry Ink Spots
19 Until The Real Thing Comes Along Ink Spots
20 I Don’t Want To Set The World On Fire Ink Spots And Ella Fitzgerald
21 Someone's Rocking My Dreamboat Ink Spots
22 Ev'ry Night About This Time Ink Spots
23 Just As Though You Were Here Ink Spots
24 This Is Worth Fighting For Ink Spots
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Don't Get Around Much Anymore Ink Spots
2 If I Cared A Little Bit Less (And You Cared A Little More) Ink Spots
3 I Can't Stand Losing You Ink Spots
4 I'll Never Make The Same Mistake Again Ink Spots
5 Don't Believe Everything You Dream Ink Spots
6 A Lovely Way To Spend An Evening Ink Spots
7 Cow Cow Boogie Ink Spots
8 I'll Get By Ink Spots
9 Someday I'll Meet You Again Ink Spots
10 I'm Making Believe Ink Spots And Ella Fitzgerald
11 Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall Ink Spots And Ella Fitzgerald
12 I'm Beginning To See The Light Ella Fitzgerald and Ink Spots
13 The Gypsy Ink Spots
14 Prisoner Of Love Ink Spots
15 To Each His Own Ink Spots
16 You Can't See The Sun When You're Crying Ink Spots
17 Ask Anyone Who Knows Ink Spots
18 The Best Things In Life Are Free Ink Spots
19 Say Something Sweet To Your Sweetheart Ink Spots
20 You Were Only Fooling Ink Spots
21 You're Breaking My Heart Ink Spots
22 Who Do You Know In Heaven (That Made You The Angel You Are) Ink Spots
23 Echoes Ink Spots
24 If Ink Spots
  • Artist:
    The Ink Spots
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    November 2023
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: