Trapeze Catalogue

Horace Silver Trio & Quartet Collection 1952-56 (2CD)

Horace Silver Trio & Quartet Collection 1952-56 (2CD)

Stock Status: Sold Out

Horace Silver was one of the most important and innovative artists from the hard bop era as pianist, composer and bandleader, working with some of leading musicians on the jazz scene as a sideman and in his own groups after his recording debut with Stan Getz in 1950. This 32-track 2-CD, including many extended performances, comprises recordings which he made leading his own trio and quintet during the early years of his career, during a time when he was also recording and performing with bands led by the likes of Coleman Hawkins, Lou Donaldson, Lester Young, Sonny Stitt, Al Cohn, Art Blakey, Miles Davis and others.

It comprises all the recordings which were released variously on the 10 and 12 Blue Note LPs New Faces, New Sounds, Horace Silver Trio with Art Blakey Vol. 2, Spotlight On Drums, Horace Silver Quintet Vol. 3 & 4 and Horace Silver And The Jazz Messengers, and the Epic LP Silvers Blue. His groups on these sessions include Art Blakey, Gene Ramey, Curly Russell, Percy Heath, Sabu, Kenny Dorham, Hank Mobley, Doug Watkins, Joe Gordon, Kenny Clarke, Donald Byrd and Art Taylor. It features many notable recordings, including his landmark compositions The Preacher and Doodlin, and captures the essence of his style during a dynamically creative time in his career.


“A very satisfying round up of some early recordings by the pianist/composer in various small group settings. The liner booklet is extremely informative about the musicians involved and the context of the times as is usual with Acrobat and greatly adds to the appreciation of the music. Full marks for an appealing release... ”  –  Gerry Stonestreet (In Tune Issue 333)

“Two discs' worth of indispensable hard bop heaven. If you don't know this music at all, don't delay. This one's a keeper.” –  Simon Spillett (The Jazz Rag 158)

“Silver’s choppy touch and propulsive, rumbling accompaniment is contagious. Furthermore, Silver’s clarity and simplicity as a soloist, the orderly organisation of his harmonies and integration of riff-based patterns suggest the unlikely influence of Count Basie. This music, most of all, is upbeat, driving, in a good mood and, 75 years after the fact, still fresh as a daisy.” – Francois van de Linde (Jazz Journal October 2019)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Horace-Scope The Horace Silver Trio
2 Safari The Horace Silver Trio
3 Thou Swell The Horace Silver Trio
4 Quicksilver The Horace Silver Trio
5 Ecaroh The Horace Silver Trio
6 Yeah The Horace Silver Trio
7 Knowledge Box The Horace Silver Trio
8 Prelude To A Kiss The Horace Silver Trio
9 Message From Kenya The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
10 Opus De Funk The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
11 Day In, Day Out The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
12 Nothing But The Soul The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
13 I Remember You The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
14 Silverware The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
15 How About You ? The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
16 Buhaina The Horace Silver/Art Blakey Trio
17 Room 608 The Horace Silver Quintet
18 Creepin' In The Horace Silver Quintet
19 Stop Time The Horace Silver Quintet
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Doodlin' The Horace Silver Quintet
2 Hippy The Horace Silver Quintet
3 To Whom It May Concern The Horace Silver Quintet
4 Hankerin' The Horace Silver Quintet
5 The Preacher The Horace Silver Quintet
6 To Beat Or Not To Beat The Horace Silver Quintet
7 Shoutin' Out The Horace Silver Quintet
8 How Long Has This Been Going On ? The Horace Silver Quintet
9 I'll Know The Horace Silver Quintet
10 Silver's Blue The Horace Silver Quintet
11 The Night Has A Thousand Eyes The Horace Silver Quintet
12 Hank's Tune The Horace Silver Quintet
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    August 2019
  • Artist:
    Horace Silver
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: