Trapeze Catalogue

Hadda Brooks - Out Of The Blue : The Hadda Brooks Collection 1945-53

Hadda Brooks - Out Of The Blue : The Hadda Brooks Collection 1945-53

Stock Status: In Stock

Hadda Brooks was a classically-trained pianist who turned to jazz and boogie-woogie and became a stylish and distinctive singer of ballads, to the extent that in the late 1940s she enjoyed three Top 10 R&B hits with sophisticated vocal recordings.

Basing her piano style initially on that of boogie-woogie pioneers like Meade Lux Lewis, Albert Ammons and Pete Johnson, the “Queen of the Boogie” developed a unique strand of material which involved re-interpreting classical pieces in boogie-woogie idiom.

She lived a multifaceted celebrity life, singing to Humphrey Bogart in In A Lonely Place, marrying a Harlem Globetrotter and becoming the first black entertainer in the country to host her own weekly television show.

This 50-track compilation features  comprises selected A- and B-sides of her singles on the Modern, London  and  Okeh labels during these years, plus selected titles from the albums Femme Fatale and Swings The Boogie on Crown, performing in her early years with a small jazz group and later both solo and with her Trio.

It naturally includes those three Top 10 hits That’s My Desire, Out Of The Blue and What Have I Done.

In the 1947 comedy movie, Out Of The Blue starring George Brent, Virginia Mayo, Turhan Bey, Ann Dvorak and Carole Landis, Brooks  appears singing the title song in a nightclub.

The artist, who died at the age of 86 in Los Angeles, performed into her 80s and celebrated her 80th birthday in 1996 by performing two sets at Johnny Depp’s Viper Room in West Hollywood.

She was one of the more unusual artists of the post-war decades, straddling stylistic boundaries in her highly individual manner, and this selective compilation of her output in what was an important first decade or so of her career, provides an entertaining showcase for her eclectic style and talents.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Just A Little Bluesie Hadda Brooks


Swingin' The Boogie Hadda Brooks
3 Blues In B Flat Hadda Brooks
4 Nightmare Boogie Hadda Brooks & Her Sextette
5 The Man I Love Hadda Brooks
6 Bluesin' The Boogie Hadda Brooks
7 Blue Mood Hadda Brooks
8 Polonaise Boogie Hadda Brooks Trio
9 Society Boogie Hadda Brooks
10 Grieg's Concerto Boogie Hadda Brooks Trio
11 You Won't Let Me Go Hadda Brooks Trio
12 Humoresque Boogie Hadda Brooks Trio
13 That's My Desire Hadda Brooks Trio
14 Romance In The Dark Hadda Brooks Trio
15 Trust In Me Hadda Brooks Trio
16 Don't Take Your Love From Me Hadda Brooks Trio
17 That's Where I Came In Hadda Brooks Trio
18 It All Depends On You Hadda Brooks Trio
19 Hollywood House Party Boogie Hadda Brooks Trio
20 The Best Things In Life Are Free Hadda Brooks Trio
21 Variety Bounce Hadda Brooks Trio
22 Out Of The Blue Hadda Brooks Trio
23 Bully Wully Boogie Hadda Brooks Trio
24 What Have I Done Hadda Brooks Trio
25 I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm Hadda Brooks Trio
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Sailboat In The Moonlight Hadda Brooks Trio
2 Bewildered Hadda Brooks
3 Take Me Hadda Brooks Trio
4 Always Hadda Brooks
5 Lazy Boogie Hadda Brooks
6 This Time We're Through Hadda Brooks
7 Keep Your Hand On Your Heart Hadda Brooks Trio
8 When A Woman Cries Hadda Brooks
9 I Feel So Good Hadda Brooks
10 The Thrill Is Gone Hadda Brooks
11 Please Be Kind Hadda Brooks
12 My Ideal Hadda Brooks
13 Dream Hadda Brooks
14 My Romance Hadda Brooks
15 Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere Hadda Brooks
16 Honky Tonk Boogie Hadda Brooks
17 Hip Shakin' Boogie Hadda Brooks
18 I Hadn't Anyone Till You Hadda Brooks
19 All I Need Is You Hadda Brooks
20 It Hadda Be Brooks Hadda Brooks
21 Time Was When Hadda Brooks
22 I'm Still In Love Hadda Brooks
23 My Song Hadda Brooks
24 Jump Back, Honey Hadda Brooks
25 When I Leave The World Behind Hadda Brooks
  • Artist:
    Hadda Brooks
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    November 2021
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: