Gene Vincent - Wild Cat 1956-62 LP

Gene Vincent - Wild Cat 1956-62 LP

Stock Status: In Stock

Gene Vincent - The Wild Cat: The Hits Collection 1956-62 

Gene Vincent was an iconic figure in the history of rock ‘n’ roll, if only for his iconic landmark hit in 1956 with the self-penned Be-Bop-A-Lula, which remains one of the great rockabilly records of its time. It has become one of the most recorded rock ‘n’ roll songs of all and has been a standard in the repertoire of bands all over the world ever since.

Performing with his band The Blue Caps, his moody image of a leather-clad bad boy with distinctive quiffed hair, the mystique being heightened by walking with a pronounced limp – the result of a motor-cycle accident in 1955 – made him a popular figure in rock ‘n’ roll films and tours on both sides of the Atlantic. He was at least as popular in the UK, if not more, as the USA, influencing as he did not only rockers like Cliff Richard and Johnny Kidd, but also The Beatles.

This 18 track LP celebrates his legacy by bringing together his most beloved A and B sides from his massive debut hit Be-Bop-A-Lula through to his more up tempo, twist inspired re-recording of the hit in 1962. Along the way we hear classics such as Race With The Devil, Blue Jean Bop, Git It (featuring Eddie Cochran on backing vocals), Wild Cat, Jezebel and Lucky Star. So sit back and unleash the Wildcat.

Track Listing
A1 - Be-Bop-A-Lula
A2 - Woman Love
A3 - Race With The Devil
A4 - Blue Jean Bop
A5 - Crazy Legs
A6 - Lotta Lovin'
A7 - Dance To The Bop
A8 - Git It
A9 - Say Mama

B1 - Wild Cat
B2 - My Heart
B3 - Pistol Packin' Mama
B4 - Jezebel
B5 - She She Little Sheila
B6 - I'm Going Home
B7 - Brand New Beat
B8 - Lucky Star
B9 - Be-Bop_A Lula '62

  • UPC:
  • Release:
    October 2023
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: