Trapeze Catalogue

Embassy British Hit Parade 1962 (4CD)

Embassy British Hit Parade 1962 (4CD)

Stock Status: Sold Out
Acrobat Musics series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year. Last year, we introduced another innovation into our annual trawl of the songs that the great British record-buying public was spending their hard-earned shillings on with our comprehensive collections for 1960 and 1961 of every 45rpm single that was released during those years on the Embassy label, the cover versions that were sold exclusively in Woolworths stores from 1954 to 1965. They were extremely well-received, so we have continued the series with this collection of every Embassy release for 1962.

There were 56 releases, one of them a 4-track single for songs from Elvis film Kid Galahad so there were 114 tracks, all performed by the labels pool of sessions singers, some of them performing under a variety of pseudonyms. We also include 4 bonus tracks. Obviously, Embassy were highly selective about the tracks they recorded the songs were generally already guaranteed hits although they did do one or two pre-emptive recordings of things they expected to chart which didn't make it. For those who began their record-buying lives in the 50s and 60s the Embassy label provided a variety of different perceptions. For the purist, it was anathema the idea of buying anything other than the version of a hit that was in the charts by the star artist was unconscionable (although people would happily buy a watered-down British cover of a stonking and original US hit if that was what was being pushed at them on the radio).

For others, the chance to buy a halfway-decent version of two different hits on one 45 for not much more than half the price of a regular single and from a shop they were probably in most Saturdays looked like a sensible deal, especially if you weren't a dyed-in-the-wool NME or MM-reading aficionado. There were also those who were genuinely interested in the music, and saw it as an interesting parallel world, buying either or both of the original and the sound-alike version. Half a century and more distant, in the world of collectors, enthusiasts and nostalgia, even the prejudices about the presumed naffness of Embassy recordings have gone out of the window as fans of 50s and 60s pop are happy to revisit the music of the times in all its forms in a happy voyage of rediscovery, and people can hear them for what they really are.

In addition, the artists who made the cover versions have a story of their own to tell, and still command a hard core of fans, and so this collection provides an eclectic slice of nostalgia that will appeal at a number of levels. We are sure that in addition to the enthusiasts with a special interest in Embassy, many purchasers of our main British Hit Parade sets will also be keen to acquire these alternative versions to add a dimension to their collections.
Disc 1
Track Artist Title
1 Run To Him Rikki Henderson
2 I'd Never Find Another You Rikki Henderson
3 The Young Ones Bobby Stevens
4 Multiplication Bobby Stevens
5 The Lion Sleeps Tonight Bobby Stevens
6 The Language Of Love Bobby Stevens
7 Let's Twist Again Rikki Henderson
8 Son, This Is She Rikki Henderson
9 Forget-Me-Not Bobby Stevens
10 Lonesome Bobby Stevens
11 Rock-A-Hula Baby Paul Rich
12 Walk On By Paul Rich
13 Peppermint Twist Bobby Stevens
14 Crying In The Rain Bobby Stevens and Redd Wayne
15 A Little Bitty Tear Redd Wayne
16 Tell Me What He Said Kay Barry
17 Wimoweh Bobby Stevens
18 Can't Help Falling In Love Bobby Stevens
19 March Of The Siamese Children Happy Knights Jazz Band
20 Wonderful Land Bud Ashton
21 The Hole In The Ground Paul Rich
22 Twistin' The Night Away Paul Rich
23 Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream) Rikki Henderson
24 Hey! Baby Rikki Henderson
25 Never Goodbye Bobby Stevens
26 Speak To Me Pretty Kay Barry
27 Hey! Little Girl Redd Wayne
28 When My Little Girl Is Smiling Redd Wayne
29 Theme From Z Cars James Wright and his Orchestra
30 Theme From Dr. Kildare James Wright and his Orchestra
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 The Maigret Theme James Wright and his Orchestra
2 Coronation Street James Wright and his Orchestra
3 Good Luck Charm Bobby Stevens
4 I'm Looking Out The Window Bobby Stevens
5 Nut Rocker Bud Ashton Trio
6 Let's Talk About Love Marian Williams
7 Down The Lane Paul Rich
8 Opposites Paul Rich and Marian Williams
9 Far Away Jean Campbell
10 The Day After Tomorrow Jean Campbell
11 As You Like It Johnny Chester
12 Last Night Was Made For Love Johnny Chester
13 Come Outside Bobby Stevens and Kay Barry
14 Ginny Come Lately Redd Wayne and Bobby Stevens
15 A Picture Of You Redd Wayne
16 The Green Leaves Of Summer Happy Knights Jazz Band
17 I Can't Stop Loving You Paul Rich
18 A Little Love, A Little Kiss Paul Rich
19 Here Comes That Feeling Kay Barry
20 Don't Ever Change Redd Wayne
21 I Remember You Bobby Stevens
22 Follow That Dream Bobby Stevens
23 Speedy Gonzales Redd Wayne
24 English Country Garden Redd Wayne
25 Right, Said Fred Paul Rich
26 Our Favourite Melodies Paul Rich
27 Little Miss Lonely Marion Williams
28 V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N Marion Williams
29 Guitar Tango Bud Ashton
30 Roses Are Red Paul Rich
Disc 3
Track Title Artist
1 Things Mike Redway
2 Once Upon A Dream Mike Redway
3 Dancin' Party Paul Rich
4 Gotta See Baby Tonight Happy Knights Jazz Band with Paul Rich
5 Pick A Bale O' Cotton Les Carle
6 So Do I Les Carle
7 Breaking Up Is Hard To Do Ray Pilgrim and Mike Redway
8 Sealed With A Kiss Ray Pilgrim and Mike Redway
9 You Don't Know Me Paul Rich
10 The Loco-Motion Marion Williams
11 She's Not You Les Carle
12 It'll Be Me Les Carle
13 Telstar Bud Ashton
14 Don't That Beat All Rikki Henderson
15 Sheila Paul Rich
16 Reminiscing Paul Rich
17 Ramblin' Rose Les Carle
18 Lonely James Wright and his Orchestra
19 It Started All Over Again Kay Barry
20 It Might As Well Rain Until September Kay Barry
21 Lovesick Blues Ray Pilgrim
22 Let's Dance Ray Pilgrim
23 Oh, Lonesome Me Mike Redway
24 Venus In Blue Jeans Mike Redway
25 Devil Woman Paul Rich
26 The Swiss Maid Paul Rich
27 Sherry Kay Barry
28 No One Can Make My Sunshine Smile Ray Pilgrim and Mike Redway
29 King Of The Whole Wide World - Les Carle
30 Home Is Where The Heart Is Les Carle
Disc 4
Track Title Artist
1 A Whistlin' Tune - Les Carle
2 Ridin' The Rainbow Les Carle
3 Bobby's Girl Kay Barry
4 James (Hold The Ladder Steady) Kay Barry
5 Sun Arise Paul Rich
6 If Only Tomorrow (Could Be Like Today) Paul Rich
7 Return To Sender Ray Pilgrim
8 It Only Took A Minute Ray Pilgrim
9 (Dance With The) Guitar Man Bud Ashton
10 Gossip Calypso Paul Rich
11 Desafinado (The Bossa Nova) James Wright and his Orchestra
12 Must Be Madison James Wright and his Orchestra
13 Love Me Tender Eddie Falcon
14 The Main Attraction Eddie Falcon
15 Keep Your Hands Off My Baby Marilyn Lee
16 Up On The Roof Les Carle
17 A Forever Kind Of Love Mike Redway
18 The Next Time Mike Redway
19 Baby Take A Bow Ray Pilgrim
20 Bachelor Boy Ray Pilgrim
21 Dance On! Bud Ashton and his Group
22 Like I Do Kay Barry
23 Your Cheatin' Heart Paul Rich
24 Globetrotter Bud Ashton and his Group
25 Crazy Words, Crazy Tune Kay Barry
26 Do Do Do Kay Barry
27 Let's Twist Again (Edited version) Rikki Henderson
28 Come Outside (Edited version) Bobby Stevens and Kay Barry

  • Artist:
  • Discs:
  • EAN:
  • Release:
    March 2013
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: