Trapeze Catalogue

Eileen Barton - If I Knew You Were Comin’: The Singles Collection 1944-62

Eileen Barton - If I Knew You Were Comin’: The Singles Collection 1944-62

Stock Status: In Stock

Eileen Barton was a singer associated both with the early 1950s and with novelty pop songs of the era, the most famous being her No. 1 debut in 1950 with If I Knew You Were Comin’ (I’d’ve Baked A Cake).

Born to vaudeville performers in Brooklyn, New York, Barton performed for several years on Broadway and radio, while carving a career as a classy big band singer where she was very much associated with Frank Sinatra, appearing on radio with him in the mid-1940s. After recording briefly for Mercury in the ‘40s she recorded her landmark hit for the National label and carried on recording into the ‘60s by which time the changes in the pop landscape had overtaken her style. Written by Al Hoffman, Bob Merrill, and Clem Watts and published in 1950, If I Knew You Were Comin’…  reached the Billboard charts on 3 March 3 1950 and lasted 15 weeks on the chart, peaking at No.1. In the UK, a version was recorded by Dame Gracie Fields the same year. The track has also been covered by Georgia Gibbs, Bing Crosby and Bob Hope, Betty Harris and The Fontane Sisters.

This great-value 55-track collection features selected A- and B-sides, including Top 30 hits Cry, Pretend, May I Take Two Giant Steps and Wishin’. It includes duets with Buddy Greco, Johnny Desmond and The McGuire Sisters, and Jimmy Wakely, as well as 1944 radio broadcasts with Sinatra. As well as her familiar novelty material, it includes performances in sophisticated pop style and on dramatic ballads, as well as rock ‘n’ roll era teen pop in her later years.

It’s an entertaining showcase for her remarkable versatility.


Track Title Artist
1 Come Out Wherever You Are Frank Sinatra, Eileen Barton and The Vimms Vocalists


Together Frank Sinatra, Eileen Barton and The Vimms Vocalists
3 You Brought A New Kind Of Love To Me Eileen Barton
4 They Say It's Wonderful Eileen Barton
5 One-Zy Two-Zy Eileen Barton
6 Lover Come Back To Me, (It's Gonna Be A) Great Day Eileen Barton
7 Would You Believe Me? Skitch Henderson And His Orchestra
8 If I Knew You Were Comin' (I'd've Baked A Cake) Eileen Barton
9 Poco Loco In The Coco Eileen Barton
10 Honey, Won't You Honeymoon With Me Eileen Barton
11 May I Take Two Giant Steps Eileen Barton
12 What Will Be, Will Be Eileen Barton
13 I Met Him At One O'Clock Eileen Barton
14 Syncopated Clock Eileen Barton
15 Hold Me Just A Little Longer, Daddy Eileen Barton
16 Cry Eileen Barton
17 Wishin' Eileen Barton
18 To Be Loved By You Eileen Barton
19 Red Rose Waltz Eileen Barton, Buddy Greco, and the Pinetoppers
20 You Intrigue Me Eileen Barton
21 Easy Easy Baby Eileen Barton
22 The Night Before Christmas Song Eileen Barton
23 Don't Let The Stars Get In Your Eyes Eileen Barton
24 Tennessee Tango Eileen Barton
25 Too Proud To Cry Eileen Barton
26 Pretend Eileen Barton
27 Pot Luck Eileen Barton
28 Toys Eileen Barton
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Anytime Anywhere Eileen Barton
2 Don't Ask Me Why Eileen Barton
3 Away Up There Eileen Barton
4 Pine Tree, Pine Over Me Johnny Desmond, Eileen Barton & the McGuire Sisters
5 Jesse James Eileen Barton
6 Twilight Time In Tennessee Eileen Barton and Jimmy Wakely
7 Sway Eileen Barton
8 A Husband Eileen Barton and Johnny Desmond
9 And Then Eileen Barton
10 Without Love Eileen Barton
11 Punch Eileen Barton and Jimmy Wakely
12 The Year We Fell In Love Eileen Barton & Lawrence Welk
13 I Wish You'd Fall In Love With Me Eileen Barton
14 Fujiyama Mama Eileen Barton
15 How Could You Forget Me Eileen Barton
16 Here I Am In Love Again Eileen Barton
17 Cry Me A River Eileen Barton
18 Teenage Heart Eileen Barton
19 Too Close For Comfort Eileen Barton
20 I'll Be Laughing At My Tears Eileen Barton
21 Then I'll Be Tired Of You Eileen Barton
22 Que Pasa, My Love Eileen Barton
23 Everybody's Buddy Eileen Barton
24 Hearts Are Funny Things Eileen Barton
25 When Love Happens To You Eileen Barton
26 That Old Feeling Eileen Barton
27 Oh, Love Eileen Barton
  • Artist:
    Eileen Barton
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    July 2022
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: