Trapeze Catalogue

Eddy Howard Collection 1939-55 (2CD)

Eddy Howard Collection 1939-55 (2CD)

Stock Status: In Stock

Eddy Howard, although not necessarily a household name these days, was a hugely popular and successful singer and bandleader during the 1940s and early 50s, racking up more than 40 Billboard pop chart hits from 1946 to 1955, having already had half-a-dozen hits as vocalist with Dick Jurgens Orchestra during the war years. As a singer, he was a classic crooner, competing for chart honours with the likes of Dick Haymes, and he scored two landmark No. 1s with the ballads To Each His Own in 1946 and Its No Sin in 1951.

They are naturally included in the great-value 52-track collection, which selects recordings from his Vocalion sessions with Dick Jurgens and his solo singles for the Majestic and Mercury labels through into the 50s, as well as some classy jazz titles for Columbia where he records with Teddy Wilson, Charlie Christian, Benny Morton and Bud Freeman among others. It is packed full of hits, featuring just about every one of his chart entries, including with more than twenty Top 10 successes. Its a worthy tribute to an artist who has not received the recognition that his success during that era merited, and is a must for lovers of the style that characterised what many regard as the golden era of popular music.


A worthy and intriguing collection from a wrongly ignored crooner of times gone by. - Paul Rigby (Audiophile Man)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 My Last Goodbye Dick Jurgens Orch. With Eddy Howard
2 Rainbow Valley Dick Jurgens Orch. With Eddy Howard
3 It's A Hundred To One Dick Jurgens Orch. With Eddy Howard
4 Bluebirds In The Moonlight Dick Jurgens Orch. With Eddy Howard
5 Careless Dick Jurgens Orch. With Eddy Howard
6 In An Old Dutch Garden Dick Jurgens Orch. With Eddy Howard
7 Star Dust Eddy Howard
8 Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams Eddy Howard
9 Exactly Like You Eddy Howard
10 To Each His Own  Eddy Howard
11 (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons  Eddy Howard
12 My Best to You  Eddy Howard
13 The Rickety Rickshaw Man  Eddy Howard
14 The Girl That I Marry  Eddy Howard
15 Heartaches  Eddy Howard
16 My Adobe Hacienda  Eddy Howard
17 I Wonder, I Wonder, I Wonder  Eddy Howard
18 Ragtime Cowboy Joe  Eddy Howard
19 An Apple Blossom Wedding  Eddy Howard
20 Blue Tail Fly Eddy Howard
21 Kate (Have I Come Too Early, Too Late)  Eddy Howard
22 Now Is the Hour (Maori Farewell Song) Eddy Howard
23 Just Because  Eddy Howard
24 Put 'Em in a Box, Tie 'Em with a Ribbon (And Throw 'Em in the Deep Blue Sea) Eddy Howard
25 Dainty Brenda Lee  Eddy Howard
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 (I'd Love to Get You) On a Slow Boat to China  Eddy Howard
2 Candy Kisses  Eddy Howard
3 Room Full of Roses  Eddy Howard
4 Yes, Yes, in Your Eyes  Eddy Howard
5 Maybe It's Because  Eddy Howard
6 Tell Me Why  Eddy Howard
7 Half a Heart Is All You Left Me (When You Broke My Heart in Two) Eddy Howard
8 Rag Mop  Eddy Howard
9 American Beauty Rose  Eddy Howard
10 To Think You've Chosen Me  Eddy Howard
11 The One Rose (That's Left In My Heart) Eddy Howard
12 A Penny a Kiss - A Penny a Hug  Eddy Howard
13 The Strange Little Girl  Eddy Howard
14 What Will I Tell My Heart  Eddy Howard
15 (A Woman Is a) Deadly Weapon  Eddy Howard
16 (It's No) Sin  Eddy Howard
17 Stolen Love  Eddy Howard
18 Wishin'  Eddy Howard
19 Be Anything (But Be Mine)  Eddy Howard
20 Auf Wiederseh'n, Sweetheart  Eddy Howard
21 Old Fashioned Love Eddy Howard
22 I Don't Want to Take a Chance  Eddy Howard
23 Mademoiselle  Eddy Howard
24 It's Worth Any Price You Pay  Eddy Howard
25 Gomen Nasai (Forgive Me)  Eddy Howard
26 Melancholy Me  Eddy Howard
27 The Teen-ager's Waltz  Eddy Howard
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    August 2017
  • Artist:
    Eddy Howard
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: