Trapeze Catalogue

Dick Haymes - I Like The Likes Of You (1947-62)

Dick Haymes - I Like The Likes Of You (1947-62)

Stock Status: In Stock

Dick Haymes was one of the most stylish and popular vocalists of the 1940s and ‘50s. He became one of the archetypal crooners of the era, known as ‘A Singer’s Singer’, as well as a movie star, appearing in screen musicals with the likes of Betty Grable. Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina in 1918, his family travelled extensively before settling in the United States when Haymes was an infant.

Following a stint working as a stunt man and film double in Los Angeles, he moved to New York City, at the age of 19, where he worked as a vocalist in a number of big bands including the Harry James orchestra. In 1942, Frank Sinatra introduced Haymes on radio as his replacement in the Tommy Dorsey band. In order to avoid military service during World War II, Haymes asserted his inactive status as a citizen of Argentina, which remained neutral until almost the end of the war.

Following the war he appeared regularly on popular radio shows of the day and this 54-track collection focuses on recordings of broadcasts from 1947 to 1962. It features performances from the NBC Bandstand Show 1956/1957 with Johnny Guarnieri at the piano, plus songs from The Dick Haymes Show, The Carnation Contented Hour and Melody Hour, as Guest Star on The Dorsey Brothers Stage Show and The Peggy Lee Show. It includes duets with Martha Tilton, Peggy Lee, Jane Wyman and Fran Jeffries.

These are rarely heard recordings, brought together in this format for commercial release for the first time, so this is an absolute must for Dick Haymes fans.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 I Like The Likes Of You Dick Haymes


Just In Time Dick Haymes
3 My Melancholy Baby Dick Haymes
4 Where Or When Dick Haymes
5 Night And Day Dick Haymes
6 Moonglow Dick Haymes
7 Standing On The Corner Dick Haymes
8 All Of Me Dick Haymes
9 My Funny Valentine Dick Haymes
10 Love Is A Great Big Nothin’ Dick Haymes
11 More Than You Know Dick Haymes
12 Let’s Fall In Love Dick Haymes
13 Stella By Starlight Dick Haymes
14 Love Walked In Dick Haymes
15 Come Rain Or Come Shine Dick Haymes
16 For Me And My Gal Dick Haymes
17 What’s New? Dick Haymes
18 You Make Me Feel So Young Dick Haymes
19 Give Me The Simple Life Dick Haymes
20 April In Paris Dick Haymes
21 Autumn Leaves Dick Haymes
22 Come Rain Or Come Shine Dick Haymes
23 It’s Only A Paper Moon Dick Haymes
24 The Very Thought Of You Dick Haymes
25 What A Difference A Day Made Dick Haymes
26 The More I See You Dick Haymes
27 Let There Be Love Dick Haymes
28 C’est Fini Dick Haymes
29 Blue Champagne Dick Haymes
30 I’d Know You Anywhere Dick Haymes & Fran Jeffries
31 Too Marvellous For Words Dick Haymes
32 Love Is The Reason Dick Haymes & Fran Jeffries
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Love Is So Terrific Dick Haymes & Martha Tilton
2 Yesterdays Dick Haymes
3 Begin The Beguine Dick Haymes
4 Little White Lies Dick Haymes
5 The Touch Of Your Hand Dick Haymes
6 Rhode Island Is Famous For You Dick Haymes & Martha Tilton
7 East Of The Sun Dick Haymes
8 It Was Written In The Stars Dick Haymes
9 All My Love Dick Haymes
10 I’ll Always Love You Dick Haymes
11 Such Is My Love Dick Haymes
12 Walkin’ My Baby Back Home Dick Haymes & Peggy Lee
13 Anytime At All Dick Haymes
14 This Can’t Be Love Dick Haymes
15 Oh, You Crazy Moon Dick Haymes
16 Zing A Little Zong Dick Haymes & Jane Wyman
17 Something’s Gotta Give Dick Haymes
18 Isn’t This A Lovely Day Dick Haymes
19 Love Is Here To Stay/They Can’t Take That Away From Me Dick Haymes
20 Let’s Get Away From It All Dick Haymes
21 September Song Dick Haymes
22 Daybreak Dick Haymes
  • Artist:
    Dick Haymes
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    June 2023
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: