Trapeze Catalogue

Buddy Moss - Oh Lordy Mama: The Buddy Moss Collection 1930-41

Buddy Moss - Oh Lordy Mama: The Buddy Moss Collection 1930-41

Stock Status: In Stock

Buddy Moss was a blues singer guitarist and harmonica player from Georgia, and was one of what became known as the Piedmont school of bluesmen alongside Blind Blake, Josh White, Blind Boy Fuller and Barbecue Bob.

Born Eugene Moss in 1914 and one of 12 children of a family of sharecroppers, the bluesman began teaching himself the harmonica at a very early age, and he played at local parties around Augusta, where the family moved when he was four. By 1928, he was busking around the streets of Atlanta. “Nobody was my influence,” he told Robert Springer of his harmonica playing, in a 1975 interview. “I just kept hearing people, so I listen and I listen, and listen, and it finally come to me.” Making his first recordings in 1930, when he was 16, with Curley Weaver and Barbecue Bob in the Georgia Cotton Pickers, he was particularly active during the mid-30s before being jailed for several years - when released in 1941, he recorded again, sometimes with fellow Piedmont stars Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee,  before the wartime shellac shortages and the 1942 AFM recording ban curtailed his activities.

This 49-track collection features selected A & B sides from his releases during this era on the Columbia, Banner, Melotone, Vocalion, Perfect, ARC and Okeh labels, including recordings as a member of The Georgia Cotton Pickers and Georgia Browns, and with Pinewood Tom (aka Josh White). Performances with Curley Weaver, Barbecue Bob, Fred McMullen, Josh White, Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry are also included.

Although his style was shaped by his early exposure to local blues players, he was a highly individual performer who wrote most of his own songs, and this is collection offers an entertaining showcase for those talents.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 I'm On My Way Down Home Georgia Cotton Pickers
2 Cold Country Blues Buddy Moss
3 When I'm Dead And Gone Buddy Moss
4 Prowling Woman Buddy Moss
5 T.B.'s Killing Me Buddy Moss
6 Hard Times Blues Buddy Moss
7 Decatur Street The Georgia Browns
8 Bye Bye Mama Buddy Moss
9 Jealous Hearted Man Buddy Moss
10 Daddy Don't Care Buddy Moss
11 Red River Blues Buddy Moss
12 Prowlin' Gambler Blues Buddy Moss
13 Can't Use You No More Buddy Moss
14 B and O Blues No. 2 Buddy Moss
15 Best Gal Buddy Moss
16 Somebody Keeps Calling Me Buddy Moss & Partner
17 Married Man's Blues Buddy Moss & Partner
18 Restless Night Blues Buddy Moss & Partner
19 Broke Down Engine Buddy Moss
20 New Lovin' Blues Buddy Moss
21 Unkind Woman Buddy Moss
22 When The Hearse Roll Me From My Door Buddy Moss
23 Insane Blues Buddy Moss
24 Oh Lordy Mama Buddy Moss
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Misery Man Blues Buddy Moss
2 Stinging Bull Nettle Buddy Moss
3 Love Me, Baby, Love Me Buddy Moss
4 Dough Rolling Papa Buddy Moss
5 Some Lonesome Day Buddy Moss
6 Evil Hearted Woman Buddy Moss
7 Sleepless Night Buddy Moss
8 Someday Baby (I'll Have Mine) Buddy Moss
9 Shake It All Night Long Buddy Moss
10 Going To Your Funeral In A Vee Eight Ford Buddy Moss
11 See What You Done Done Buddy Moss
12 You Got To Give Me Some Of It Buddy Moss
13 Your Hard Head Will Bring You Some Sorrow Some Day Buddy Moss
14 Stop Hanging Around Buddy Moss
15 My Baby Won't Pay Me No Mind Buddy Moss
16 Worrysome Woman Buddy Moss
17 Undertaker Blues Buddy Moss
18 Tricks Ain't Walking No More Buddy Moss
19 Gravy Server Buddy Moss
20 Joy Rag Buddy Moss
21 Unfinished Business Buddy Moss
22 You Need A Woman Buddy Moss
23 I'm Sittin' Here Tonight Buddy Moss
24 Little Angel Blues Buddy Moss
25 Struggle Buggie Buddy Moss
  • Artist:
    Buddy Moss
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    December 2022
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: