Our Catalogue

Buddy DeFranco - The Bebop Years 1949-56

Buddy DeFranco - The Bebop Years 1949-56

Stock Status: In Stock

Buddy DeFranco was one of the few jazz clarinettists to come to prominence in the post-war era when the instrument saw a decline in popularity.

One of the only clarinettists to successfully find a role in the changing musical environment, brought about by the emergence of bebop, DeFranco enjoyed a long and fruitful career. His grounding was in the swing orchestras of Gene Krupa, Charlie Barnet and most notably Tommy Dorsey, but having left Dorsey in 1948, he led his own bands and performed with some of the leaders of the bebop era. In the 1960s and ‘70s he led the later incarnation of the Glenn Miller Orchestra, under the name, “The World Famous Glenn Miller Orchestra, Directed By Buddy DeFranco”.

This 2CD set selects recordings released on the Capitol, Columbia, MGM, Clef, Norgran, and Verve labels featuring DeFranco leading his bands and playing as a member of groups led by Count Basie, Lionel Hampton and Oscar Peterson. Among the top musicians of the day, with whom he plays alongside on the tracks featured here, are Art Tatum, Clark Terry, Buddy Rich, Max Roach, Kenny Drew, Curly Russell, Art Blakey, Milt Hinton, Eugene Wright, Ray Brown, Herb Ellis, Louis Bellson, Harry ‘Sweets’ Edison and Barney Kessel. It’s an entertaining collection which not only provides a showcase for DeFranco’s underestimated virtuosity as a clarinettist, but presents him playing on some notable recordings with some of the finest musicians of the post-war decade.

DeFranco, who continued to record into his 80s when he made music with younger exponents of the same lyrical jazz style that he loved, died in Florida at the age of 91.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Bud's Invention Buddy DeFranco Sextet 
2 Extrovert Buddy DeFranco Sextet 
3 Neal's Deal Count Basie Octet
4 The Golden Bullet Count Basie Octet
5 These Foolish Things Count Basie Octet
6 Tootie Count Basie Octet
7 Dancing On The Ceiling Buddy DeFranco And His Orchestra
8 Body And Soul Buddy DeFranco And His Orchestra
9 Rumpus Room Buddy DeFranco And His Orchestra
10 Make Believe Buddy DeFranco And His Orchestra
11 Oh, Lady Be Good Buddy DeFranco Quartet
12 Buddy's Blues Buddy DeFranco Quartet
13 Pennywhistle Blues Buddy DeFranco Quartet
14 Carioca Buddy DeFranco Quartet
15 I Got It Bad Buddy DeFranco Quartet
16 Summertime Buddy DeFranco Quartet
17 Autumn In New York Buddy DeFranco Quartet
18 Show Eyes Buddy DeFranco Quartet
19 When Your Lover Has Gone Buddy DeFranco Quartet
20 Somebody Loves Me Oscar Peterson Trio & Buddy DeFranco
21 The Things We Did Last Summer Oscar Peterson Trio & Buddy DeFranco
22 Cable Car Buddy DeFranco Quartet
Track Title Artist
1 Monogram Buddy DeFranco Quartet
2 Blues In The Closet Buddy DeFranco Quartet
3 On The Sunny Side Of The Street Lionel Hampton Quartet 
4 You Go To My Head Buddy DeFranco Quartet
5 Sonny's Idea Buddy DeFranco Quartet
6 Laura Buddy DeFranco Quartet
7 Minor Incident Buddy DeFranco Quartet
8 Moe Buddy DeFranco Quartet
9 Fascinating Rhythm Buddy DeFranco And The Oscar Peterson Quartet
10 Easy To Love Buddy DeFranco And The Oscar Peterson Quartet
11 But Beautiful Buddy DeFranco Quintet
12 I Can't Get Started Buddy DeFranco Quintet
13 A Foggy Day Art Tatum/Buddy De Franco Quartet 
14 Makin' Whoopee Art Tatum/Buddy De Franco Quartet 
15 Perfidia The Buddy DeFranco Wailers
16 I Won't Dance The Buddy DeFranco Wailers
  • Artist:
    Buddy DeFranco
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    June 2022
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: