Trapeze Catalogue

Billy Wright - Blues For My Baby (1949-59)

Billy Wright - Blues For My Baby (1949-59)

Stock Status: In Stock

Despite having a career that involved several visits to the US R&B charts, R&B and jump blues singer Billy Wright is still probably best-known for his influence on a young Richard Penneman aka Little Richard. His flamboyant style and appearance helped to shape the extrovert approach of the great rock ‘n’ roller, including his use of pancake make-up and wearing his hair in an extravagant pompadour style.

Hailing from Atlanta, Georgia, Wright worked as a dancer and as a female impersonator but developed as a singer when he began performing at Atlanta’s 81 Theater. Saxophonist Paul “Hucklebuck” Williams caught one of his  shows when the two shared a bill with Charles Brown and Wynonie Harris and he recommended him to Herman Lubinsky of Savoy Records. Known as “The Prince of The Blues” during his career. Wreight was, for a brief time, rock’s most colourful star and a key figure in blues in the Atlanta area in the post-war years after he started recording in 1949. In 1951, he introduced Penneman  to his friend, the DJ ‘Daddy’ Sears who helped the future “Architect of Rock and Roll”, get his first recording contract with RCA.

This 43-track set features the A and B sides of his releases on the Savoy, Atlanta, Peacock and Carrollton labels alongside selected recordings from this era which were unreleased on singles. It includes his Top 10 R&B hits Blues For My Baby, You Satisfy, Hey, Little Girl and Stacked Deck. Unfortunately, the relentless rise of rock ’n’ roll resulted in the singer being overlooked and he would make his last recordings in 1959.

This 2CD collection offers an entertaining showcase for a great R&B entertainer, whose influence on rock ‘n’ roll went beyond simply his music.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Blues For My Baby Billy Wright
2 You Satisfy Billy Wright
3 I Keep Drinking Billy Wright
4 Billy's Boogie Blues Billy Wright
5 Back Biting Woman Billy Wright
6 Thinkin' Blues Billy Wright
7 After Dark Blues Billy Wright
8 Heavy Hearted Blues Billy Wright
9 Man's Brand Boogie Billy Wright And Orchestra
10 Beg A Dog Billy Wright And Orchestra
11 Fore Day Blues Billy Wright And Orchestra
12 Empty Hand Billy Wright And Orchestra
13 Keep Your Hands On Your Heart Billy Wright With Orch
14 Mercy, Mercy Billy Wright
15 Stacked Deck Billy Wright
16 Mean Old Wine Billy Wright With Orch
17 Heh Little Girl Billy Wright
18 Gotta Find My Baby Billy Wright
19 New Kind Of Lovin' Billy Wright
20 When The Wagon Comes Billy Wright
21 Turn Your Lamps Down Low Billy Wright
22 Drinkin' And Thinkin' Billy Wright
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Every Evening Billy Wright
2 Married Woman's Boogie Billy Wright
3 Goin' Down Slow Billy Wright & Orch.
4 If I Didn't Love You Billy Wright & Orch.
5 Four Cold, Cold Walls Billy Wright
6 After Awhile Billy Wright
7 Live The Life Billy Wright
8 I Remember Billy Wright
9 The Question (Wha'cha Gonna Do?) Billy Wright And Orchestra
10 Bad Luck, Heartaches And Trouble Billy Wright And Orchestra
11 Have Mercy, Baby Billy Wright
12 I Love You Sweetheart Billy Wright
13 Restless Blues Billy Wright
14 This Love Of Mine Billy Wright
15 If I Had My Life To Live Over Billy Wright
16 Sad Hour Blues Billy Wright
17 Do Something For Me Billy Wright
18 Keep Your Hand On Your Heart And Your Mind On Me Billy Wright
19 Will You Need Me Billy Wright
20 Baby Don't You Want A Man Like Me Billy Wright
21 Let's Be Friends Billy Wright
  • Artist:
    Billy Wright
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    September 2023
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: