Bholoja - Imphilo

Bholoja - Imphilo

Stock Status: In Stock

Bholoja, born Mbongiseni Ngubane in 1979 in Hhohho, Kingdom of Eswatini (former Swaziland), is to be considered one of the most relevant figures of the contemporary African music scene. With an infectious sense of humor and optimism, Bholoja’s voice has become a mouthpiece for the underprivileged. Singing in Siswati and English, his music, Swazi Soul, blends alternative soul, gospel, jazz, blues, and African traditional rhythms.

After the success of his debut album Swazi Soul I, released in 2009, Bholoja became Eswatini’s rising symbol of its native rhythms, melodies, and culture. In 2015, he completed Swazi Soul II in South Africa, setting him as one of the few genuine innovators on the Swazi music scene.

Since his first gig at House on Fire 2004, Bholoja shared his music at numerous venues including festival performances such as MTN Bushfire, Standard Bank Joy of Jazz, Azgo Festival, and Moshito Festival. His African and European tour with Cameroonian artist Kareyce Fotso in 2010 placed him as an influential symbol of his home country.

Appointed a member to the Entertainment Committee in Eswatini by King Mswati III in 2008, he founded the “Bholoja Arts Technology and Educational Foundation“ (BATEF) in 2010. His powerful lyrics combined with a striking multi-colored voice has won respect and expanded his music internationally. Some of his musical achievements include: Best Upcoming African Musician 2009 Artist at Visa Pour la Creation (hosted by Culture France), Best Siswati Album 2010 (Swazi Soul I) at the South African Traditional Music Achievement Awards (SATMA Awards), Best Album 2012 (Swazi Soul I), Swaziland Tihlabani Awards Artist of the Year 2012. For three consecutive years, he won the Best-Selling Swazi Artist award and ranked top ten at Radio France International (RFI). Two of his titles (Mbombela & Africa Unite) have been published on Putumayo compilations: South Africa (2010) & World Peace 2019).

  • EAN:
  • Release:
    August 2023
  • Brand:
    One World Records
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: