Trapeze Catalogue

Art Farmer - The Classic Albums 1953-55

Art Farmer - The Classic Albums 1953-55

Stock Status: In Stock

Art Farmer was a jazz trumpeter, born in 1928, who came to the fore in the post-war bebop era, and recorded and performed continuously and prolifically in the USA and Europe through the latter half of the 20th century until shortly before his death in 1999.

His reputation was enhanced by his recording of Farmer’s Market in 1952, shortly after which he embarked on the sessions featured here for the Prestige label during the middle years of the decade, which were along his first as a band leader. Those sessions were mixed and matched across several 10” and 12” LPs over the next few years, and this 42-track collection comprises the complete contents of the Prestige albums Work Of Art, Art Farmer Quintet, Art Farmer Plays, The Art Farmer Septet, Early Art, When Farmer Met Gryce and Evening In Casablanca. His bands on these sessions featured a number of noted musicians of the day, including Sonny Rollins, Horace Silver, Percy Heath, Kenny Clarke, Wynton Kelly, Gigi Gryce, Philly Joe Jones among others. The Los Angeles Times obituary noted that his playing had “a sweetly lyrical tone and a melodic approach to phrasing, neither of which minimized his capacity to produce rhythmically swinging phrases.”

While The Guardian noted how “Farmer avoided the bright, penetrating sound of orthodox trumpet playing and was influenced by the more reserved articulation of Miles Davis and Kenny Dorham… Farmer was in his way a true original.” Comprising mainly original material, but with a sprinkling of standards, this fascinating collection captures Farmer at a key moment of his career as he blossomed into one of the most respected trumpeters of the era.


Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 Work Of Art Art Farmer Septet


The Little Bandmaster Art Farmer Septet
3 Mau Mau Art Farmer Septet
4 Up In Quincy's Room Art Farmer Septet
5 Wisteria Art Farmer Quintet
6 Soft Shoe Art Farmer Quintet
7 Confab In Tempo Art Farmer Quintet
8 I'll Take Romance Art Farmer Quintet
9 A Night At Tony's Art Farmer Quintet
10 Blue Concept Art Farmer Quintet
11 Deltitnu Art Farmer Quintet
12 Stupendous Lee Art Farmer Quintet
13 Evening In Paris Art Farmer Septet
14 Wildwood Art Farmer Septet
15 Elephant Walk Art Farmer Septet
16 Tiajuana Art Farmer Septet
17 Gone With The Wind Art Farmer Quartet
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 I've Never Been In Love Before Art Farmer Quartet
2 I'll Walk Alone Art Farmer Quartet
3 Alone Together Art Farmer Quartet
4 Pre Amp Art Farmer Quartet
5 Autumn Nocturne Art Farmer Quartet
6 Blue Lights Art Farmer Quintet
7 Capri Art Farmer Quintet
8 Infant's Song Art Farmer Quintet
9 Social Call Art Farmer Quintet
10 Forecast Art Farmer Quintet
11 Sans Souci Art Farmer Quintet
12 Evening In Casablanca Art Farmer Quintet
13 Satellite Art Farmer Quintet
14 Nica's Tempo Art Farmer Quintet
15 Shabozz Art Farmer Quintet
  • Artist:
    Art Farmer
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    December 2023
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: