Trapeze Catalogue

Al Hibbler Singles Collection 1946-59

Al Hibbler Singles Collection 1946-59

Stock Status: In Stock

Born in Mississippi in 1915, Al Hibbler, was a baritone vocalist whose career transcended the divide between big band jazz, rhythm and blues and sophisticated pop.

Blind from birth, Hibbler began working as a blues singer in local bands, winning an amateur talent contest in Memphis. Given a start with Dub Jenkins and his Playmates, he later joined a band led by Jay McShann in 1942, and the following year joined Duke Ellington’s Orchestra, replacing Herb Jeffries.

As vocalist with Ellington, he recorded memorable hits and stayed with the bandleader until 1951, but along the way forged a career as a solo recording artist, enjoying a string of R&B and pop hits, both in the USA and the UK. This 75-track collection includes most of his A- and B-sides on the Aladdin, Sunrise/Miracle, Chess, Atlantic, Mercury/Clef/Norgran and Decca labels during this era.

It includes all his solo career chart entries, most notably his US No.3, R&B No.1 and UK No.2 in 1955 with Unchained Melody and his US pop Top 10 hits with He and After The Lights Go Down Low, plus Top 10 R&B hits with Trees, Lover Come Back To Me, Danny Boy and What Will I Tell My Heart.


Al Hibbler sang with Duke Ellington before having several pop hits as a solo artist. Some of Hibbler's singing is classified as R&B, however he is best seen as a bridge between R&B and popular music. Hibbler is not usually identified as a jazz singer but as an outstandingly good interpreter of 20th-century popular songs who also happened to work with some of the best jazz musicians of the time. This big-value three CD set has 75 sides. While not much here to interest the average B&R reader, if you can appreciate a top-quality interpreter of popular songs - and a decent blues singer when he got a chance - then this set is worth investigating.  - Phil Wight (Blues & Rhythm June 2021)

The 75 tracks on offer here make for some very worthwhile listening, particularly the first two discs which contains music that has not been available for a very long time. - Gerry Stonestreet (In Tune Issue 352)

A whole lot of Hibbler, welcome for sure - Peter Vacher (Jazzwise Issue 264)

Very popular in the 1940s and 1950s, Al Hibbler worked in pop music, in early R&B and on the fringes of jazz. His voice, rich, fluid and warm, has a distinctive and usually wide vibrato, a vocal characteristic what can add emotional intensity to a singer's interpretation of the story told by a song's lyrics.Stylistically, Hibbler is not a jazz singer but he should appeal to many readers, especially when several Ellingtonians have solo moments... - Bruce Crowther (Jazz Journal June 2021)

Al Hibbler occupies a unique place in American popular music, and this substantial and comprehensive overview of his primary career as a chart-focused artist provides an enjoyable showcase for his smooth and distinctive vocal style. - Pete Lay (Just Jazz Issue 279)

Disc 1
Track Title Artist
1 I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good Al Hibbler
2 How Long Blues Al Hibbler
3 S'posin' Al Hibbler
4 Don't Take Your Love From Me Al Hibbler
5 I Surrender Dear Al Hibbler
6 Solitude Al Hibbler
7 My Little Brown Book Al Hibbler
8 My Ev'a Lovin' Baby Al Hibbler
9 Summertime Al Hibbler
10 Trees Al Hibbler
11 Lover, Come Back To Me Al Hibbler
12 Poor Butterfly Al Hibbler
13 Hey Baby Al Hibbler
14 By The River Sainte Marie Al Hibbler
15 It Don't Mean A Thing Al Hibbler
16 What Will I Tell My Heart Al Hibbler
17 I Love You Al Hibbler
18 Danny Boy Al Hibbler
19 Song Of The Wanderer Al Hibbler
20 If I Knew You Were There Al Hibbler
21 Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Seen Al Hibbler
22 Stormy Weather Al Hibbler
23 Cherry Al Hibbler
24 Star Dust Al Hibbler
25 Honeysuckle Rose Al Hibbler
26 The Blues Came Falling Down Al Hibbler
Disc 2
Track Title Artist
1 Old Folks Al Hibbler
2 Travelin' Light Al Hibbler
3 Now I Lay Me Down To Dream Al Hibbler
4 This Is Always Al Hibbler
5 Please Al Hibbler
6 Believe It Beloved Al Hibbler
7 Sent For You Yesterday (And Here You Come Today) Al Hibbler with Count Basie & His Orchestra
8 Goin' To Chicago Al Hibbler with Count Basie & His Orchestra
9 There Is No Greater Love Al Hibbler
10 It Must Be True Al Hibbler
11 As Time Goes By Al Hibbler
12 I'm Getting Sentimental Over You Al Hibbler
13 Anne Al Hibbler
14 I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart Al Hibbler
15 I'm Just A Lucky So And So Al Hibbler
16 Every Hour On The Hour Al Hibbler
17 Flamingo Al Hibbler
18 It shouldn't happen to a dream Al Hibbler
19 Unchained Melody Al Hibbler
20 Daybreak Al Hibbler
21 They Say You're Laughing At Me (While I'm Crying For You) Al Hibbler
22 I Can't Put My Arms Around A Memory Al Hibbler
23 He Al Hibbler
24 Breeze (Blow My Baby Back To Me) Al Hibbler
Disc 3
Track Title Artist
1 11th Hour Melody Al Hibbler
2 Let's Try Again Al Hibbler
3 Never Turn Back Al Hibbler
4 Away All Boats Al Hibbler
5 After The Lights Go Down Low  Al Hibbler
6 I Was Telling Her About You Al Hibbler
7 I'm Free Al Hibbler
8 Trees  Al Hibbler
9 The Town Crier Al Hibbler
10 Sweet Slumber Al Hibbler
11 Because Of You Al Hibbler
12 I Complain Al Hibbler
13 Around The Corner From The Blues Al Hibbler
14 When Will I Forget You Al Hibbler
15 Be Fair Al Hibbler
16 Wish Al Hibbler
17 I'm Glad I'm Not Young Anymore Al Hibbler
18 My Heart Tells Me Al Hibbler
19 Ain't Nothing Wrong With That Baby Al Hibbler
20 Softly, My Love (Etude) Al Hibbler
21 Love Land Al Hibbler
22 Love Me Long, Hold Me Close, Kiss Me Warm And Tender Al Hibbler
23 Warm Heart - Cold Feet Al Hibbler
24 Mine All Mine Al Hibbler
25 What Tis? What Tis? Tis Spring Al Hibbler
  • Artist:
    Al Hibbler
  • EAN:
  • Discs:
  • Release:
    April 2021
  • Brand:
  • Product Code:
  • Weight: